An Everyday Companion

An Old Woman Cooking Eggs, Diego Velázquez, 1618 - National Galleries of Scotland, Edinburgh | Everyday Companion | From Drinking to Savoir-boire | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

AN OLD WOMAN COOKING EGGS (detail)

Diego Velázquez (1599-1660)

1618

National Galleries of Scotland, Edinburgh, Great-Britain

For a long time, wine was considered a foodstuff. It restored invalids, boosted workers’ morale and accompanied family meals. For many people, cafés could be a sort of substitute family, as well as a way of killing time.

BREAD AND WINE DISTRIBUTION

Francesco d'Antonio (1433-1484) ? 

1478-1481

Oratorio dei Buonimi di San Martino, Florence, Italy

  

 

This fresco illustrates an act of Christian charity: the giving of bread to the hungry and wine to the thirsty. The wine seems to be being distributed directly from the fermentation tank. The same scene could have been captured at the Beaune Hospices, which had just been founded by the Chancellor Nicolas Rolin and his wife, Guigone de Salins. Here, there were daily donations to the poor, or pôvres. Wine was already recognized as a necessary product. It served to combat the cold in winter and as a refreshment in the summer. However, it was more than a simple drink: giver of strength and energy, wine was seen as a tonic, a valuable source of energy and even vital minerals. As water was generally undrinkable in the Middle Ages...

 

Find out more: Gallery Foodstuff, Remedy and Comfort  >>

Le Déjeune, Gustave Caillebott

LE LUNCHEON
Gustave Caillebotte (1848-1894) 
1876
Private collection

  

 

The dining room of their private mansion on Rue de Mirosmesnil, the painter’s mother, Madame Martial Caillebotte, and his brother René eat a meal served by their butler. Madame Caillebotte is shown wearing mourning for her husband, who has been dead for less than two years. The three characters are almost engulfed in shadow, while the crystal glasses shimmer on the table. They form part of a Harcourt table service, created by the manufacturers Baccarat in 1841 and still sold as a luxury product today. The carafes seem to project light into the gloomy dining room in the strange new Paris of Haussman…

 

Find out more: Gallery Family Life  >>

Café de nuit, Van Gogh

THE NIGHT CAFÉ (LE CAFÉ DE NUIT)
Vincent Van Gogh (1853-1890) 
1888
Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven, CT, United States

  

 

Vincent Van Gogh wrote to his brother Theo (August 1888): “Today I will probably start on the interior of the inn where I’m lodging...it is what we call a café de nuit (they’re common here), which stays open all night. Night-time wanderers can find a refuge – it’s an asylum – when they don’t have the means to pay for a room or are too drunk to be allowed in.” The café’s listless atmosphere and harsh gas lighting accentuate the sadness of the setting. Under the eye of the waiter, a couple and a few tired customers kill time, alone, long into the night. Bottles of wine and absinthe stand side by side. Van Gogh added, a month later: “I wanted to show that the café is a place where one can destroy oneself, go mad, commit crimes...” 

Find out more: Gallery Cafés  >> 

COLLECTION FROM DRINKING TO SAVOIR-BOIRE

Galleries An Everyday Companion
Galleries Social Life and Life in Society
Galleries Drunks or Connoisseurs
En voir plus

THE VIRTUAL WINE MUSEUM'S COLLECTIONS

Fr. Drinking to Savoir-boire
De boire en savoir-boire
From Vineyard to Port
Décrivez votre image
In Still Life
In Illumination
Décrivez votre image
En voir plus

>  Wine and Painting  >  From Drinking to Savoir-boire  >  An Everyday Companion

  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

19.10.2019

Le vin, compagnon de la vie quotidienne

VIEILLE FEMME FAISANT CUIRE DES OEUFS (détail)

Diego Velázquez, GM (1599-1660)

1618

National Galleries of Scotland

Pendant longtemps, le vin est considéré comme un aliment. Il reconstitue les malades, réconforte les travailleurs et accompagne les repas en famille. Quant aux cafés, pour nombre de leurs clients, ils sont comme une famille de substitution et une façon de tuer le temps.

Distribution de pain et de vin 1340-1350 San Martino dei Buonimo Florence - Copie

DISTRIBUTION DE PAIN ET DE VIN

Taddeo Gaddi (1290-1366)

1340-1350 ?
Eglise San Martino dei Buonimo, Florence

  

 

La fresque de Taddeo Gaddi illustre la charité chrétienne : donner du pain à ceux qui ont faim et du vin à ceux qui ont soif. Il semble que le vin soit puisé de la cuve de fermentation pour être aussitôt distribué. Quelques cent ans plus tard, la même scène aurait pu être saisie aux Hospices de Beaune, que venaient de fonder le chancelier Nicolas Rolin et sa femme Guigone de Salins. Il y avait tous les jours la même distribution aux "pôvres". C’était déjà reconnaître que le vin était un produit de première nécessité. Il servait à combattre le froid en hiver et à se rafraîchir en été. Mais c’était beaucoup plus qu’une simple boisson : redonnant forces et énergie, le vin était considéré comme un véritable aliment au fort pouvoir calorifique et porteur de nombreux sels minéraux. Enfin, l’eau au Moyen-Âge n’étant guère potable, il était nécessaire de la couper avec du vin... 

 

Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Aliment, remède et réconfort" >>

Le Déjeune, Gustave Caillebott

LE DÉJEUNER
Gustave Caillebotte (1848-1894) 
1877
Collection particulières

  

 

Dans la salle à manger de leur hôtel particulier, rue de Mirosmesnil, la mère du peintre, Madame Martial Caillebotte et son frère René prennent leur repas, servi par leur majordome. Madame Caillebotte porte encore le deuil de son mari disparu il y a moins de deux ans. Ils émergent à peine de la pénombre tandis que scintillent les cristaux du service de table. Il s'agit du service Harcourt, dont la forme originelle a été créée par la maison Baccarat en 1841 et qui est encore vendu aujourd'hui pour parer les plus grandes tables. Les carafes jettent une resplendissante lumière dans cette salle à manger sombre dans ce nouveau Paris haussmanien...

 

Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "En famille" >>

Café de nuit, Van Gogh

CAFÉ DE NUIT
Vincent Van Gogh (1853-1890) 
1888
Yale University Gallery, New Haven, Etats-Unis

  

 

Vincent Van Gogh écrit à son frère Théo (août 1888) : " Je vais aujourd'hui probablement commencer l'intérieur du café où je loge... C'est ce qu'on appelle ici un "café de nuit" (ils sont assez fréquents ici) qui restent ouverts toute la nuit. Les "rodeurs de nuit" peuvent y trouver refuge un asile donc, lorsqu'ils n’ont pas de quoi se payer un logement ou qu’ils soient trop soûls pour y être admis". Le café est peu animé et le violent éclairage des lampes à gaz accentue sa désolation. Sous le regard du garçon de café, un couple et quelques rares clients assoupis traînent leur solitude jusqu’à tard dans la nuit. Le vin y côtoie l’absinthe. Van Gogh ajoute  un mois plus tard : "J’ai cherché à exprimer que le café est un endroit où l’on peut se ruiner, devenir fou, commettre des crimes...". 

Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Au café" >> 

DE BOIRE EN SAVOIR-BOIRE, LES GALERIES

Galeries Compagnon de la vie quotidienne
Galeries Compagnon de la vie sociale
Galeries Vin de l'ivresse ou vin des connaisseurs
En voir plus

LES COLLECTIONS DE PEINTURE DU MUSEE VIRTUEL DU VIN

De vin divin en vin Sacré
De boire en savoir-boire
De vigne en port
Décrivez votre image
En nature morte
En enluminure
Décrivez votre image
En voir plus

>  Vin et peinture  >  De boire en savoir-boire  >  Compagnon de la vie quotidienne

Livre d or.jpg

Contact : www.musee-virtuel-vin.fr/contact

Musée du vin sur internet

Site d'information à vocation pédagogique et sans but lucratif

Version 2 (édition bilingue anglais-français)

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.