Nectar of the Gods in Classical Mythology

Bacchus on a Throne - Nymphs Offering Bacchus Wine and Fruit  | Caesar Boetius van Everdingen, ca. 1660 - Gemaldegalerie, Dresde, Germany | From Divine to Sacred |  Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

BACCHUS ON A THRONE − NYMPHS OFFERING BACCHUS WINE AND FRUIT (detail)

Caesar Boetius van Everdingen (1617-1678)

ca. 1660

Gemäldegalerie, Dresde, Germany

Greco-Latin mythology has long been the basis of much of mankind’s cultural heritage. Painters have drawn inspiration from its stories, creating numerous works which, as well as being masterpieces, represent our great founding myths. Since the earliest days of Antiquity, wine and religion have been closely connected. Wine has been, and remains, an important element of ritual and sacrificial practices. In Ancient Greece, it was both the object of a cult and a symbol of culture. The famous ‘Mysteries’, celebrated in honor of Dionysus, gave birth to theater. Rome had a more troubled relationship with Bacchus and bacchanals. In Rome, when Dionysus was not assimilated with Liber, the object of an official cult, he was often referred to as Bacchus – another of his Greek names – and the private sanctuaries in which his cult was practiced were called bacchanalia. The bacchanals remain associated with the scandal and repression recounted by Livy. But the cult of the bacchantes was to flourish once again under the Empire.

 

The gods and goddesses Soma (Vedic), Spendaramet (Armenian), Sabazios (Thrace and Phrygian), Moloch (Syrian), Ammon (Libyan), Oratal (Arab), as well as the Indian Shiva, the Egyptian Osiris, the Babylonian Gilgamesh, the Greek Dionysus, the Etruscan Fufluns, the Italian Liber Pater, Sucellus (Latinised to Silvanus) in Gaul – who the Romans replaced with Bacchus – bear witness to the quest for resurrection and immortality that only divine drunkenness could satisfy. In this way, the cult of the wine god survived into the 17th century.

BACCHUS, VENUS AND ARIADNE
Tintoreto (Jacopo Robusti, 1518-1594)  
1576
Palazzo Ducale, Sala dell'Anticollegio, Venice

  

Originating from the island of Naxos, Bacchus consoled and then married Ariadne, abandoned by Thesius, and gave her a gold crown, Vulcan’s masterpiece: ‘“I am she to whom you used to promise the heavens. Ah me, what a reward I suffer instead of heaven!” She spoke: Liber had been listening a long while to her complaint, since he chanced to follow closely. He embraced her, and dried her tears with kisses, and said: “Together, let us seek the depths of the sky! You’ll share my name just as you’ve shared my bed, since, transmuted, you will be called Libera: and there’ll be a memory of your crown beside you, the crown Vulcan gave to Venus, and she to you.” He did as he said, and changed the nine jewels to fire: Now the golden crown glitters with nine stars.’ (Ovid, Fasti, 3, 505-516)

 

 Find out more: Gallery Dionysus, God of Wine  >>

TRIUMPHAL PROCESSION OF BACCHUS 
Maerten van Heemskerck (1462-1522)
1537-1538
Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria

  

Pursued by his wife, Zeus takes Dionysus far from Greece, to the land of Nisa. He leaves him to be raised by nymphs. As an adult, Dionysus discovers vines, but is found and driven mad by Hera. He wanders through Egypt, Syria and Asia before reaching Phrygia, where the goddess Cymbeline welcomes, teaches and heals him. Upon Dionysus’s arrival in Thrace, the reigning king Lycurgus tries to take him prisoner. Dionysus is protected by Thetis (a Nereid, or sea nymph) who offers to shelter him in the sea. Lycurgus, meanwhile, captures the Bacchantes in Dionysus’ entourage; they too manage to escape and the king is stricken with madness. Delusional, he cuts off his own leg and attacks his son with an axe, believing him to be Dionysus’s sacred vine. When Lycurgus comes to his senses, he realises what he has done; his land has also become infertile. An Oracle reveals that only his own death...

 

 Find out more: Gallery The Followers of Dionysus >>

BACCHANAL OF THE ANDRIANS
Titian (ca. 1488-1576)
1523-1526
Museo del Prado, Madrid, Spain

  

In this work by Titian, the inhabitants of the island of Andros (known as ‘Andrians’) celebrate receiving a gift from Dionysius: a river of wine. This was one of the ‘miracles’ popularly attributed to the god, soon to be venerated as the god of the vine. In his play The Bacchae, Euripides gives an account of the miracle: “One of [the Bacchants] hit the rock with her thyrsus and water spurted out of it; when the other brought down her narthex to the ground, the god sent forth a spring of wine. Those who desired a white drink scratched the earth with their fingernails and had streams of milk. The ivy on the thyrsus dripped with honey... Ah! have you seen?” For their part, the inhabitants of Teos in Ionia were proud of their wine source, which sprang to life on a particular day each year. They claimed that this proved that this was the god’s birthplace (see Diodorus of Sicily and Pliny the Elder)...

 

 Find out more: Gallery Bacchanals and Bacchanalian Scenes >>

COLLECTION FROM DIVINE TO SACRED

Galleries Nectar of the Gods in Classical Mythology
Galleries The Blood of the Grapes in the Old Testament
Galleries The Blood of Christ in the New Testament
En voir plus

THE VIRTUAL WINE MUSEUM'S COLLECTIONS

From Divine to Sacred
Fr. Drinking to Savoir-boire
From Vineyard to Port
Décrivez votre image
In Still Life
In Illumination
Décrivez votre image
En voir plus

©  2020   Le Musée Virtuel du Vin - The Virtual Wine Museum                            Sitemap   |   Terms and Privacy

  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

01.03.2017

Le vin, un acteur majeur de la mythologie antique : c'est le nectar des dieux

NYMPHES OFRRANT DU VIN, DES FRUITS ET DES FLEURS AU JEUNE BACCHUS (détail)

Caesar van Everdingen (1617-1678)

c. 1660

Gemäldegalerie, Dresde

La mythologie gréco-latine a longtemps été le socle du fonds commun culturel de l'humanité. Les peintres y ont puisé leur inspiration, multipliant les chefs-d'œuvre qui sont tout autant d'illustrations de nos grands mythes fondateurs. Le vin et la religion, depuis la plus haute antiquité, ont des rapports fort étroits. Le vin a été et reste un élément important des pratiques rituelles et sacrificielles. En Grèce antique, il fut à la fois l'objet d'un culte et un symbole de la culture. Les Mystères célébrés en l'honneur de Dionysos -dieu du vin, de la vigne et de ses excès - donnèrent naissance au théâtre. Rome eut des rapports plus conflictuels avec Bacchus et les bacchanales. À Rome, lorsqu'on n'assimile pas Dionysos à Liber, célébré par un culte officiel, on le désigne fréquemment par un autre de ses noms, Bacchus, et l'on nomme bacchanalia les sanctuaires privés où des sociétés de dévots pratiquent son culte. Les bacchanales restent associées au souvenir d'un scandale et d'une répression dont Tite-Live fera un récit détaillé. Mais le culte des bacchants refleurira sous l’Empire.

 

Les dieux ou déesses Soma (védique), Spendaramet (arménien), Sabazios (thrace et phrygien), Moloch (syrien), Ammon (libyen), Oratal (arabe), ainsi que Shiva aux Indes, Osiris en Égypte, Gilgamesh à Babylone, Dionysos en Grèce, Fufluns, chez les Étrusques Liber Pater en Italie, Sucellus (latinisé en Silvanus) en Gaule — que les Romains remplacèrent par Bacchus — sont les témoins de cette résurrection et la quête de l'éternité que seule pouvait satisfaire l'ivresse divine. Le culte du dieu du vin a ainsi survécu jusqu'au VIIème siècle.

Tintoret Ariane Venus et Bacchus

ARIANE, VENUS ET BACCHUS
Le Tintoret, GM (Jacopo Robusti, 1518-1594)  
1576
Palazzo Ducale, Sala dell'Anticollegio, Venise

  

Venu dans l'île de Naxos, Bacchus consola et épousa Ariane abandonnée par Thésée, et lui donna la fameuse couronne d'or, chef-d'œuvre de Vulcain : "Et je suis celle à qui tu promettais le ciel ! Malheureuse ! En fait de ciel, quelle récompense est la mienne !" Elle se tut ; depuis longtemps Liber entendait ses plaintes, car il l'avait suivie. Il la prend dans ses bras, sèche ses larmes sous ses baisers et lui dit : "Montons ensemble au plus haut des cieux ; partageant ma couche, tu partageras aussi mon nom : dans ta nouvelle condition tu t'appelleras Libera et je vais faire en sorte qu'avec toi demeure le souvenir de ta couronne, de cette couronne que Vulcain donna à Vénus, et que Vénus te donna". Il fait comme il avait dit et métamorphose en feux les neuf gemmes de la couronne : elle brille maintenant, cercle d'or, de ses neuf étoiles. (Ovide, Fastes, III, 505 - 516)

 

 Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Dionysos, dieu du vin" >>

Heemskerck Triomphe de Bacchus

LE CORTÈGE TRIOMPHAL DE BACCHUS 
Maerten van Heemskerck (1462-1522)
1537-1538
Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienne

  

Poursuivi par sa femme, Zeus emmena Dionysos loin de Grèce, en pays de Nisa. Il le confia aux nymphes qui l’élevèrent. Adulte, Dionysos découvrit la vigne, mais poursuivi par Héra, il fut frappé de folie. Il erra en Égypte et en Syrie, remonta les côtes de l’Asie jusqu’en Phrygie où la déesse Cybèle l’accueillit. Elle le purifia, l’initia à ses mystères et le délivra de cette folie. Arrivé en Thrace, le roi régnant Lycurgue se montra hostile à sa venue et tenta de le faire prisonnier. Dionysos réussit à s’échapper chez Thétis, la Néréide, qui lui offrit l’asile dans la mer. Lycurgue captura les Bacchantes qui l’escortaient. Elles furent miraculeusement sauvées et Lycurgue fut frappé de folie. Il se coupa la jambe et tailla son fils à coups de hache, croyant abattre de la vigne, plante sacrée de Dionysos, son ennemi. Lorsqu’il revint à lui, il se rendit compte de son geste et sa terre était frappée de stérilité. L’Oracle révéla que seule la mort de Lycurgue...

 

 Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Entourage de Dionysos" >>

LA BACCHANALE DES ANDRIENS
Titien, GM (1488-1576)
1523-1526
Museo del Prado, Madrid

  

Les habitants de l'île d'Andros (les "Andriens") y célèbrent le don que leur fait Dionysos, un fleuve de vin. Il s'agit là d'un de ces "miracles" attribués au dieu par les croyances populaires lorsque avec le temps celui-ci se trouva vénéré comme dieu de la vigne. Déjà dans les Bacchantes, Euripide contait ces merveilles : "L'une (des bacchantes) de son thyrse ayant frappé la roche, un flot frais d'eau limpide à l'instant en jaillit ; l'autre de son narthex ayant fouillé la terre, le dieu en fit sortir une source de vin. Celles qui ressentaient la soif du blanc breuvage, grattant du bout des doigts le sol, en recueillaient du lait en abondance. Du thyrse orné de lierre s'égouttait un doux miel... Ah ! que n'as-tu, présent, contemplé tout cela !" 
Les habitants de Téos en Ionie, de leur côté, se vantaient de cette source de vin qui jaillissait chez eux à date fixe, attestant que le dieu était bien né en ce lieu (Diodore de Sicile et Pline l'Ancien)... 

 

 Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Bacchanales et scènes bachiques" >>

DE VIN DIVIN EN VIN SACRE, LES GALERIES

Galeries Nectar des dieux, mythologie classique
Galeries Sang de la vigne, Ancien Testament
Galeries Sang du Christ, Nouveau Testament et autres
En voir plus

LES COLLECTIONS DE PEINTURE DU MUSEE VIRTUEL DU VIN

De vin divin en vin Sacré
De boire en savoir-boire
De vigne en port
Décrivez votre image
En nature morte
En enluminure
Décrivez votre image
En voir plus