At Cana, wine transforms a wedding into a divine feast

The Marriage at Cana, Veronese, 1562/63 - Musée du Louvre, Paris | Marriage at Cana | Blood of Christ, New Testament, Bible | From Divine to Sacred | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

THE MARRIAGE AT CANA

Paolo Veronese (1528-1588)

1562-1563

Musée du Louvre, Paris

 

 

Veronese sets the scene with a mixture of profane and sacred elements. Religious symbols presaging the Passion of the Christ are placed beside 16th-century gold and silver tableware. The furniture, table, ewers, cups and crystal vases reveal the splendor of the feast. Every guest at the table has his own place setting, consisting of a napkin, forks and a trencher. The artist has missed no detail of the double reading; while a servant carves the meat – symbol of the mystical body of Christ – at the centre of the composition, boxes of quinces – symbols of marriage – are served to the guests as a dessert.

Veronese puts together a veritable mise en scene. The theme allows him to create a stage-like background setting for his characters. The upper half of the composition shows a white-clouded sky, while the lower part plays host to the crowd. The fluted Corinthian columns would have evoked the contemporary constructions of the architect Palladio. The painter has chosen precious pigments imported from the Orient by Venetian merchants: dark yellows, bright reds and lapis lazuli, used in large quantities for the sky and draperies. These colors play a major role in the interpretation of the painting because, by their contrasts, they help to distinguish individual characters (Source: Musée du Louvre).

 

Veronese represents a Biblical scene in the guise of a Venetian feast, mixing Biblical and contemporary figures. One can even recognize some of Europe’s greatest rulers: Francois I, King of France; the Ottoman Sultan Soliman II the Magnificent; Queen Mary of England. There are also various lords and ladies, whose opulent beauty sets them apart: Eleanor of Austria, Alphonse d’Avalos, the Cardinals Bernard Navagero and Charles de Lorraine Titian, Bassano and even Veronese himself are among the musicians, with Pierre l’Arétin as master of ceremonies.

THE MARRIAGE AT CANA
Jacopo Torriti, 1290s - Fresco, Upper Church, San Francesco, Assisi, Italy
No. 24 SCENES FROM THE LIFE OF CHRIST: 8. MARRIAGE AT CANA Giotto di Bondone, 1304/06 - Fresco (after restor.), Cappella Scrovegni, Padua, Italy
MARRIAGE FEAST AT CANA Hieronymus Bosch
ca. 1475/80 - Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
THE MARRIAGE AT CANA (NOCES A CANA)
Gérard David, ca. 1500 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
THE MARRIAGE FEAST AT CANA
Juan de Flandes, ca. 1500/04 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
MARRIAGE AT CANA
Tintoretto, 1561 - Santa Maria della Salute, Venice
THE MARRIAGE AT CANA
Maarten de Vos, 1596/97 - O.-L. Vrouwekathedraal, Antwerp, Belgium
THE WEDDING FEAST AT CANA Follower of Frans Franken the Younger
Ist half of the 17th century- Private collection
THE WEDDING FEAST AT CANA
Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld, 1819 - Kunsthalle, Hamburg, Germany

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

Bible text: New Testament, John 2:1-11

"On the third day there was a wedding in Cana of Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there. Now both Jesus and His disciples were invited to the wedding. And when they ran out of wine, the mother of Jesus said to Him, ‘They have no wine.’ Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, what does your concern have to do with Me? My hour has not yet come.’ His mother said to the servants, ‘Whatever He says to you, do it.’ Now there were set there six waterpots of stone, according to the manner of purification of the Jews, containing twenty or thirty gallons apiece. Jesus said to them, ‘Fill the waterpots with water.’ And they filled them up to the brim. And He said to them, ‘Draw some out now, and take it to the master of the feast.’ And they took it. When the master of the feast had tasted the water that was made wine, and did not know where it came from (but the servants who had drawn the water knew), the master of the feast called the bridegroom. And he said to him, ‘Every man at the beginning sets out the good wine, and when the guests have well drunk, then the inferior. You have kept the good wine until now!’ This beginning of signs Jesus did in Cana of Galilee, and manifested His glory; and His disciples believed in Him."

GALLERIES THE BLOOD OF CHRIST IN THE NEW TESTAMENT AND CHRISTIAN ICONOGRAPHY

Marriage at Cana
Parables
The Last Supper
The Supper at Emmaus
The Harvest of the Earth
Redemption
En voir plus
  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

23.12.2017

A Cana, le vin transforme la fête en noce divine

"Les Noces de Cana", Véronèse, 1562/63 - Musée du Louvre, Paris | Noces de Cana | Sang du Christ, Nouveau Testament, Bible | De vin divin en vin Sacré | Vin et Peinture | MVV Le Musée Virtuel du Vin

 LES NOCES DE CANA
Véronèse (1528-1588)  
1562-1563
Musée du Louvre, Paris

 

Véronèse mêle le profane et le sacré pour planter le décor. Les symboles religieux annonçant la Passion du Christ côtoient une vaisselle d'argent et une orfèvrerie luxueuses du XVIe siècle. Le mobilier, le dressoir, les aiguières, les coupes et vases de cristal montrent toute la splendeur du festin. Chaque convive assis autour de la table a son propre couvert composé d'une serviette, de fourchettes et d'un tranchoir. Dans cette double lecture, aucun détail n'échappe à l'artiste. Alors qu'un serviteur coupe la viande au centre de la composition, symbole du corps mystique du Christ, des boîtes de coings, symboles du mariage, sont servies en dessert aux invités.

Véronèse orchestre une véritable mise en scène. Le thème lui permet de créer un décor théâtral pour placer ses personnages. La composition, divisée en deux montre une partie supérieure avec le ciel parcouru de nuages blancs et une partie inférieure terrestre envahie par la foule. Les colonnes cannelées aux chapiteaux corinthiens évoquent les constructions récentes de l'architecte Palladio. Le peintre a sélectionné des pigments précieux importés d'Orient par les marchands vénitiens, des jaunes orangés, des rouges vifs et le lapis-lazuli utilisé en grande quantité pour le ciel et les draperies. Ces couleurs jouent un rôle majeur dans la lisibilité du tableau. Elles contribuent, par leur contraste, à individualiser chacun des personnages (Source : Musée du Louvre).

 

Véronèse représente une scène biblique dans le cadre d'une fête vénitienne, mêlant les personnages de la Bible et des figures contemporaines. On peut, parait-il, y reconnaître quelques-uns des plus grands souverains de l'Europe : le roi de France François Ier, l'empereur Charles Quint, le sultan ottoman Soliman II le Magnifique, la reine Marie d' Angleterre, les seigneurs et les dames les plus illustres par leur valeur et leur beauté, Éléonore d'Autriche, Alphonse d'Avalos, les cardinaux Bernardo Navagero et Charles de Lorraine, ainsi que, Le Titien, Bassano et Véronèse lui-même parmi les musiciens, Pierre l'Arétin en maître de cérémonie.

LES NOCES DE CANA
Jacopo Torriti, 1290s - Fresque, St François, Assise
SCÈNES DE LA VIE DU CHRIST : NOCES DE CANA
Giotto di Bondone, 1304-06 - Cappella Scrovegni, Padoue
NOCES DE CANA
Bosch, GM, c. 1475-1480 - Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam
NOCES A CANA
Gérard David, c. 1500 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
LA FÊTE DE MARIAGE A CANA
Juan de Flandes, c. 1500-1504 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
NOCES A CANA
Le Tintoret, GM, 1561 - Santa Maria della Salute, Venise
LES NOCES DE CANA
Maarten de Vos, 1596-1597 - O.-L. Vrouwekathedraal, Anvers
NOCES DE CANA
Frans Franken le Jeune, Ière moitié du XVIIème - Collection particulière
NOCE A CANA
Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld, 1819 - Kunsthalle, Hambourg, Allemagne

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

Texte biblique : Nouveau Testament, Évangiles, Jean II, 1-11

"Trois jours après, il y eut des noces à Cana en Galilée. La mère de Jésus était là, et Jésus fut aussi invité aux noces avec ses disciples. Le vin ayant manqué, la mère de Jésus lui dit : Ils n'ont plus de vin. Jésus lui répondit: Femme, qu'y a-t-il entre moi et toi? Mon heure n'est pas encore venue. Sa mère dit aux serviteurs: Faites ce qu'il vous dira. Or, il y avait là six vases de pierre, destinés aux purifications des Juifs, et contenant chacun deux ou trois mesures. Jésus leur dit : Remplissez d'eau ces vases. Et ils les remplirent jusqu'au bord. Puisez maintenant, leur dit-il, et portez-en à l'ordonnateur du repas. Et ils en portèrent. Quand l'ordonnateur du repas eut goûté l'eau changée en vin, - ne sachant d'où venait ce vin, tandis que les serviteurs, qui avaient puisé l'eau, le savaient bien, -il appela l'époux, et lui dit : Tout homme sert d'abord le bon vin, puis le moins bon après qu'on s'est enivré; toi, tu as gardé le bon vin jusqu'à présent. Tel fut, à Cana en Galilée, le premier des miracles que fit Jésus. Il manifesta sa gloire, et ses disciples crurent en lui ".

LE SANG DU CHRIST DANS LE NOUVEAU TESTAMENT ET L'ICONOGRAPHIE CHRETIENNE, LES GALERIES

Noces de Cana
Paraboles
Dernière Cène
Souper à Emmaüs
Vendange de la Terre
Rédemption
En voir plus