Christ shares his last meal with the Apostles and institutes the Eucharist

The Last Supper, Leonardo da Vinci, 1498 - Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie, Milan, Italy | The Last Supper | Blood of Christ, New Testament, Bible | From Divine to Sacred | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

THE LAST SUPPER

Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519)

1498

Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie

Milan, Italy

 

 

 

This is Leonardo da Vinci’s most famous work of the 1490s. The scene was painted directly onto the wall of the convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie in Milan and shows Christ’s last supper with his disciples before his arrest and execution. It shows the exact moment when Jesus declares: “one of you will betray me”. Da Vinci conveys the twelve disciples’ consternation at this news.

The writer Mathieu Bandello observed Leonardo at work and wrote that, some days, he would paint from dawn to dusk without a pause – even for meals – and then would stop work completely for three or four days in a row. According to Vasari, this work pattern angered the Prior, who hassled the painter until da Vinci asked the Duke of Milan, Ludovic Sforza, to step in. Vasari also describes how da Vinci doubted his ability to paint the faces of Jesus and Judas, telling the Duke that he may have used the monk as a model.

 

When the painting was finished, it was lauded as a masterpiece of conceptualisation and characterisation, later even winning the admiration of Peter Paul Rubens and Rembrandt. The work has been restored continually as the paint peels away from its plaster support. The painting deteriorated rapidly, and even before its hundredth birthday it was described as “totally devastated” by a visitor. Instead of using the tried-and-tested fresco technique, Leonardo da Vinci had used the ‘tempera technique’, a painting process using egg yolks to bind pigments; as the plaster support was mainly made of ‘gesso’, a type of calcium carbonate chalk, the surface is prone to dampness and crumbling. Despite these setbacks, the painting remains one of the world’s most reproduced works of art.

FROM THE 14TH TO THE 18TH CENTURY

SCENES FROM THE LIFE OF CHRIST: N° 29. LAST SUPPER Giotto di Bondone, 1304/06 - Fresco (after restor.), Cappella Scrovegni, Padua, Italy
LAST SUPPER (Scene 3)
Duccio di Buoninsegna, 1308/11 - Museo dell'Opera del Duomo, Siena, Italy
AST SUPPER, TREE OF LIFE AND FOUR MIRACLE SCENES
Taddeo Gaddi, ca. 1360, Fresco (detail) - Refectory, Santa Croce, Florence, Italy
COMMUNION OF THE APOSTLES CELLA
Fra Angelico, 1440/41 - San Marco Convent, Florence
THE LAST SUPPER
Dirk Bouts, 1464/67 - Sint-Pieterskerk, Leuven, Belgium / 5
LAST SUPPER
Domenico Ghirlandaio, 1480 - Chiesa di Ognissanti, Florence
THE LAST SUPPER
Cosimo Rosselli, 1481/82 - Cappella Sistina, Vatican
THE LAST SUPPER
Jacopo Bassano, ca. 1546 - Galleria Borghèse, Rome
THE LAST SUPPER
Tintoretto, 1559 - St François-Xavier Church, Paris / 9
THE LAST SUPPER
Juan de Juanes, 1555/62 - Museo del Prado, Madrid, Saoin
THE LAST SUPPER
Pieter Pourbus, 1562 - Church of Our Lady, Bruges, Belgium
THE LAST SUPPER
Lucas Cranach the Younger, 1565 - Schlosskirche, Dessau, Germany
THE LAST SUPPER
El Greco, ca. 1568 - Pinacoteca Nazionale, Bologna, Italy
FEAST IN THE HOUSE OF LEVI
Paolo Veronese, 1573 - Gallerie dell'Accademia, Venice / 14
THE LAST SUPPER
Frans Pourbus the Younger, 1618 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
LAST SUPPER
Rubens, 1631/32 - Pinacoteca di Brera, Milan, Italy
THE SEVEN SACRAMENTS II: EUCHARIST (LE SACREMENT DE LA SAINTE EUCHARISTIE) N. Poussin, 1647 - New Galleries of Scotland, Edinburgh / 17
THE LAST SUPPER
Philippe de Champaigne, ca. 1652 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
THE LAST SUPPER
Gerbrand van den Eeckhout, 1664 - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
THE LAST SUPPER
Giovanni B. Tiepolo, 1745/47 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
THE LAST SUPPER (sketch)
Franz Anton, 1754 - Residenzgalerie, Salzburg, Austria / 21

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

The Biblical origin of the Eucharist can be placed in the context of Passover, the Jewish festival commemorating the Hebrews’ escape from Egypt (Book of Exodus). This celebration usually took place over seven days. It was during this festival that Jesus instituted the Eucharist: “Now on the first day of Unleavened Bread, when they killed the Passover lamb, His disciples said to Him, `Where do you want us to go and prepare, that you may eat the Passover'” (Mark 14:12, Matthew 26:7)
 
In his World Atlas of Wine, Hugh Johnson highlights the fact that many accounts confirm the influence of the cult of Bacchus: “Bacchus-Dionysus was already considered a saviour – to rise from the dead was normal for the old gods, while to eat a god’s body and drink his blood (represented by wine) was a familiar concept to the Ancient Greeks who believed in the myth of Orpheus. The grape, to the Ancient Greeks an attribute of Dionysus, was to become a symbol of the blood of Christ for the Eucharist.”

 

There is an incalculable number of depictions of the Last Supper. Will they end up seeming banal to us? We have chosen to comment on several works which stand out from the rest.

5. Bouts has chosen the moment where Christ blesses the bread and wine. By this gesture, he institutes the Eucharist. The traitor Judas, in the foreground on the left, is treated as an unremarkable silent witness – something fairly rare in representations of this character.
 
9. The church of Saint-François-Xavier in Paris, consecrated in 1894, is home to a magnificent but little-known work by Tintoretto: The Last Supper, painted in 1559. It was commissioned by the Scuola du Saint-Sacrement of the Church of Saint Felix, in Venice. Stolen during the Napoleonic era, it was sold in France. The Baroness of Teil donated it to the Parish of Saint-François-Xavier. In the image, Jesus has just announced that one of his disciples is about to betray him. The disciples stare at each other, shocked and suspicious, wondering who will be the culprit. Tintoretto places Judas in the foreground, opposite Christ. He hides behind his back the payment given to him by Jesus’ soon-to-be captors.
 
14. This famous work by Veronese is an immense canvas measuring 13 meters in length. It represents Christ surrounded by a group of individuals who are not mentioned in the Gospels. The Last Supper takes place not in a Palestinian inn, as in the Bible, but in a rich palace with Classical architecture, probably inspired by one of those designed by Palladio. As in The Marriage at Cana, Veronese stays true to his mocking, bawdy and pagan artistic identity. The painting’s basic theme is that of ‘The Last Supper’. Veronese painted this scene at the request of the Dominican monks of Santi Giovanni e Paoli. However, his very particular approach to the subject aroused the suspicions of the Prior of the monastery, who reported Veronese to the Inquisition. He was accused of impiety by the Tribunal of the Holy Office for having placed The Last Supper in a setting where drinkers, dwarves, black people and animals circulate – an atmosphere deemed ‘profane’. The artist responded to the judges, who questioned the bustling scene and numerous characters represented: “if there is space on the canvas, I’ll fill it with as many figures as my patrons, and my imagination, want.” Ordered to alter the work to fit the religious ‘good taste’ of the Inquisition, Veronese pointedly did nothing, merely changing the title of the painting. The Last Supper became the Feast in the House of Levi – the new title drawn from an episode in the Gospel according to Luke (Luke 5: 29-32), in which Levi (the Hebrew name of the apostle Matthew) gave a great feast in his house. Levi’s guests were invited to partake of the celebration in good company, for the love of God. An ingenious way for the artist to mock his censors!
 
17. Poussin was one of few painters to combine in a single work the two most important moments of the Last Supper: the announcement of the treason of one of the disciples, and Christ’s institution of the Eucharist. Judas seems to be shown slipping away from the supper unnoticed; in the Gospels, it is not clear if he stayed until the end of the Passover meal. Saint Augustin, of whom Poussin was a follower, supported the Gospel according to John above the three other versions of the story; in this version, Judas indeed leaves the room. Poussin demonstrates a certain contextual rigor by presenting the disciples lying down on divans in the semisdraiati position (normal feasting behavior in the Roman period), rather than in a more contemporary setting and position, as was usually the case for biblical (and mythological) scenes.

21. The apostles are grouped round a table, agitated and turbulent, some leaning back, some forwards. The scene appears agitated and turbulent. Alarm over the predicted betrayal is evident. Only John, beside Jesus, sleeps through the turmoil. Opposite them sits Judas, looking out of the picture with a challenge in his eyes, as he hides the bag with the thirty pieces of silver behind his back.

20TH CENTURY

THE BLIND MAN'S MEAL
Pablo Picasso, 1903 - The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 1
THE LAST SUPPER (LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE)
André Derain, 1911 - Art Institute of Chicago
THE SACRAMENT OF LAST SUPPER
Salvador Dali, 1955 - NGA, Washington DC

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

 

1. This work is a remarkable restatement of the Christian sacrament-the ritual of tasting bread and wine to evoke the flesh and blood of Christ-in contemporary terms… Picasso described the painting in a letter to his friend the French poet Max Jacob: "I am painting a blind man at the table. He holds a piece of bread in his left hand and with his right hand reaches for a jug of wine" (Source : The Metropolitan Museum of Art).

Bible text: New Testament, Luke 22:14-20

"When the hour had come, He sat down, and the twelve apostles with Him. Then He said to them, ‘With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer; for I say to you, I will no longer eat of it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.’ Then He took the cup, and gave thanks, and said, ‘Take this and divide it among yourselves; for I say to you, I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.’ And He took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, ‘This is My body which is given for you; do this in remembrance of Me.’ Likewise He also took the cup after supper, saying, ‘This cup is the new covenant in My blood, which is shed for you."

THE LAST SUPPER IN MEDIEVAL ILLUMINATIONS

12th century, North of England
The Speyer Evangeliarium, 1220
Livre d'heures de Madame Marie, 1285
For the Sion Covent use, 1505
En voir plus

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

A pictorial technique similar to that of frescoes or miniatures, illuminations were very popular during the Middle Ages. Done by hand, illuminations decorated or illustrated texts, usually on handwritten manuscripts. Until the 12th century, manuscripts were copied out in religious settings, such as abbeys, where they were used to support prayer and meditation. From the 13th century, private artisans began to produce literature for the secular market. This was due to the greater literacy that had resulted from the growing university and administrative sectors.

 

Find out more: Wine in Illuminations, From Divine to Sacred  >>

WINE AND THE ARTS: SCULPTURE AND STAINED GLASS

SCENES OF THE LIFE OF CHRIST: THE LAST SUPPER, Pierre de Chelles, 1300/18 - North choir closing,  Notre-Dame de Paris
THE INSTITUTION OF EUCHARIST, 16th cent. - Saint-Sulpice Church, Breteuil-sur-Iton, Eure, France

SCENES OF THE LIFE OF CHRIST: THE LAST SUPPER, Pierre de Chelles, 1300/18 - North choir closing,  Notre-Dame de Paris / THE INSTITUTION OF EUCHARIST, 16th cent. - Saint-Sulpice Church, Breteuil-sur-Iton, Eure, France

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

The ‘Muses’ companion’, wine is present across the artistic spectrum, be it in literature, music, decorative or fine arts. Wine is an essential witness to our social and cultural history. Although the Virtual Wine Museum is mainly concerned with painting at present, some examples drawn from other artistic formats permit us to illustrate the universal role of wine, to ‘bear witness’ to it. A few examples of non-painted works on the same theme as this painting gallery.

 

Discover Wine and the Arts  >>

GALLERIES THE BLOOD OF CHRIST IN THE NEW TESTAMENT AND CHRISTIAN ICONOGRAPHY

Maariage at Cana
Parables
The Last Supper
The Supper at Emmaus
The Harvest of the Earth
Redemption
En voir plus

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

01.08.2019

Le Christ prend son dernier repas avec les apôtres et institue l'Eucharistie

"La Dernière Cène", Leonardo da Vinci, 1498 - Couvent de Santa Maria delle Grazie, Milan | Dernière Cène | Sang du Christ, Nouveau Testament, Bible | De vin divin en vin Sacré | Vin et Peinture | MVV Le Musée Virtuel du Vin

 LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519)
1498
Couvent de Santa Maria delle Grazie, Milan

 

 

Il s'agit de la plus célèbre peinture de Léonard de Vinci pour la période des années 1490. Elle est peinte directement sur un mur du couvent Santa Maria delle Grazie à Milan et représente le dernier repas partagé par Jésus et ses disciples avant sa capture et sa mort. Il montre précisément le moment où Jésus déclare : « l'un de vous va me trahir ». Léonard dépeint la consternation que cette déclaration a causé à l'ensemble des douze disciples de Jésus.

Le romancier Mathieu Bandello a observé Léonard au travail et écrit que, certains jours, il peint de l'aube au crépuscule sans même s'arrêter pour manger, et puis ne peint plus les trois ou quatre jours suivants. Selon Vasari, cela provoque l'incompréhension du père supérieur, le prieur, qui chasse le peintre, jusqu'à ce que Léonard demande au duc de Milan Ludovic Sforza d'intervenir. Vasari décrit également comment Vinci doute de sa capacité à peindre proprement les visages de Jésus et de Judas, disant au duc qu'il a peut-être utilisé le moine pour modèle. 

 

Lorsque la peinture est terminée, elle est saluée comme un chef-d'œuvre de conception et de caractérisation, obtenant même plus tard l'admiration de Pierre Paul Rubens et de Rembrandt. L'œuvre a été restaurée sans cesse, la peinture se détachant du support en plâtre. La peinture s'est détériorée rapidement, de telle sorte qu'avant même le centième anniversaire de sa création, elle a été décrite par un témoin comme « totalement dévastée ». Léonard de Vinci, au lieu d'utiliser la technique éprouvée de la fresque, a utilisé la « technique de la tempera », un procédé de peinture utilisant le jaune d'œuf comme médium pour lier les pigments, alors que le support est principalement « gesso », un type de craie fait de carbonate de calcium minéral, ce qui a produit une surface sujette à la moisissure et à l'écaillage. Malgré ces déboires, le tableau est resté l'une des œuvres d'art les plus reproduites.

Du XIVème au XVIIIème SIÈCLE

SCÈNES DE LA VIE DU CHRIST : 13. DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Giotto, 1304-06 - Cappella Scrovegni, Padoue
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE Duccio di Buoninsegna, 1308-1311 - Panneau arrière du Retable de la Maesta. musée de l'œuvre du Dôme, Sienne
DERNIÈRE CÈNE (bas de La Cène, l’Arbre de Vie et 4 scènes de miracles)
Taddeo Gaddi, 1360s - Santa Croce, Florence
COMMUNION DES APÔTRES
Fra Angelico, 1439-1443 - Cellule des moines, couvent de San Marco, Florence
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Dirk Bouts, 1464-1467 - Saint-Pieterskerk, Louvain, Belgique / 5
DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Domenico Ghirlandaio, 1480 - Chiesa di Ognissanti, Florence
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Cosimo Rosselli, 1481-1482 - Chapelle Sixtine, Rome, Vatican
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Jacopo Bassano, c. 1546 - Galleria Borghèse, Rome
LA CÈNE
Le Tintoret, 1559 - Eglise St François-Xavier, Paris / 9
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Juan de Juanes, c. 1562 - Museo del Prado, Madrid
DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Pieter Pourbus, 1562 - Eglise Notre Dame, Bruges, Belgique
DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Lucas Cranach le Jeune, 1565 - Johanniskirche Dessau, Dessau, Allemagne
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
El Greco, c. 1568 - Pinacoteca Nazionale, Bologne
LE REPAS CHEZ LEVI
Paolo Véronèse, 1573 - Gallerie dell'Accademia, Venise / 14
LA CÈNE
Frans Pourbus le Jeune, 1618 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Rubens, 1631-1632 - Pinacoteca di Brera, Milan
LE SACREMENT DE LA SAINTE EUCHARISTIE
Nicolas Poussin, 1647 - New Galleries of Scotland, Edimbourg / 17
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Philippe de Champaigne, c. 1652 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Gerbrand van den Eeckhout, 1664 - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
Giovanni B. Tiepolo, 1745-1747 - Musée du Louvre, Paris
LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE (esquisse)
Franz Anton Maulbertsch, 1754 - Vrouwekathedraal, Antwerp, Belgique / 21

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

L’origine biblique de l’Eucharistie se place dans le contexte de la Pâque juive, fête commémorant la sortie d’Égypte par les Hébreux (livre de l’Exode). Cette fête s’étalait normalement sur sept jours. C’est pendant cette fête que Jésus va instituer l’eucharistie : "Le premier jour des pains sans levain, les disciples vinrent dire à Jésus : Où veux–tu que nous te préparions le repas de la Pâque ?" (Matthieu XXVI, 7 et Marc XIV, 12).
 
De son côté, Hugh Johnson souligne dans son "Histoire mondiale du vin" que maints témoignages confirment l'influence du culte de Bacchus : "Bacchus-Dionysos état déjà considéré comme un sauveur, ressusciter d'entre les morts était naturel chez les anciens dieux, manger la chaire du dieu et boire son sang représenté par le vin était une idée familière aux grecs tenants du mythe d'Orphée. Attribut de Dionysos chez les anciens Grecs, le raisin est devenu le symbole du sang du Christ lors de l'Eucharistie.

 

Il y a un nombre incalculable de représentations de la Cène. Finissent-elles pour autant par nous paraître assez banales? Nous avons choisi d'en commenter quelques unes qui se détachent de notre sélection.

5/ Bouts a choisi le moment ou le Christ bénit le pain et le vin. Par ce geste, il institue l'eucharistie. Judas le traitre, au premier plan à gauche, est traité comme un simple témoin silencieux, discret, ce qui n'est habituellement pas si fréquent.
 
9 / L'église Saint-François-Xavier à Paris, consacrée en 1894, abrite une magnifique toile du Tintoret trop peu connue : la Cène, peinte en 1559. Elle fut commandée par la Scuola du Saint-Sacrement de l'église Saint-Félix, à Venise. Enlevée à l'époque napoléonienne, elle fut achetée en France. La baronne du Teil en fit don à la paroisse Saint-François-Xavier. Jésus vient d'annoncer que l'un des apôtres allait le trahir. Tous les convives se regardent avec des visages interloqués, se soupçonnant les uns les autres. Le Tintoret a placé Judas au premier plan, en face du Christ. Il cache derrière son dos le salaire de sa délation.
 
14/ Ce tableau très célèbre de Véronèse est une immense toile de treize mètres de long. Elle représente le Christ entouré d'un ensemble de personnages qui ne sont pas mentionnés dans les Évangiles. L'œuvre qui représente la Cène n'a pas lieu dans une auberge de Palestine, comme le décrit la Bible, mais dans un riche palais d'architecture classique, probablement inspiré de l'un de ceux construits par Palladio. Comme dans ses Noces de Cana, Véronèse ne se départit pas de son esprit railleur, paillard et païen. À l'origine, le thème du tableau est « la Cène ». C’est à la demande des Dominicains de Santi Giovanni e Paolo que Véronèse peint cette Cène. Mais le traitement très personnel du sujet par Véronèse éveille les soupçons du prieur du couvent qui le signale à l'Inquisition. Il est vite accusé d'impiété par le tribunal du Saint-Office, pour avoir situé la Cène dans un lieu où des buveurs, des nains, des noirs, des animaux évoluent dans une atmosphère jugée profane. Il répond aux juges qui s’étonnent du nombre de personnages qu'il a peint : « s’il reste de l’espace dans le tableau je l’orne d’autant de figures que l’on me demande et selon mon imagination. » Condamné à amender l'œuvre pour la mettre en conformité avec ce que le tribunal d'inquisition pense être la bienséance religieuse, Véronèse, avec malice, n'en fera rien, changeant simplement le titre du tableau: La Cène devient Le Repas chez Levi, un épisode tiré de l’Évangile selon Luc (5, 29-32), dans lequel Levi (le nom hébreu de l’apôtre Matthieu) donne un grand festin dans sa maison. Ses convives y sont invités à faire « bonne chère », en bonne compagnie, pour l’amour de Dieu. Belle façon de se moquer des censeurs !
 
17/ Poussin est l’un des rares peintres à combiner en une seule œuvre les deux moments essentiels de la Cène : l’annonce de la trahison de l’un des douze apôtres, et l’institution de l’Eucharistie par le Christ. Judas semble déserter le repas et personne ne lui prête attention, bien que dans les Évangiles il ne soit pas toujours dit si Judas reste ou non jusqu’à la fin du repas pascal. Mais Saint Augustin, dont Poussin était l'un des disciples, élevait l’Évangile selon Jean au-dessus des trois autres. Pour celui-ci, il ne fait aucun doute, "Judas.. se hâta de sortir" (Jean, XIII, 30). Poussin fait preuve d’une certaine rigueur contextuelle en présentant les disciples allongés sur des divans, en position semisdraiati, comme c’était l’usage à l’époque romaine ; et non pas dans un décor qui faisait partie de son quotidien comme c’était le plus souvent la pratique des peintres dans les récits bibliques (et mythologiques). 

21/ Commentaire à venir

XXème SIÈCLE

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE
André Derain, 1911 - Art Institute of Chicago
LA CÈNE
Salvador Dali, 1955 - NGA, Washington DC, Etats-Unis
LE REPAS DE L'HOMME AVEUGLE
Pablo Picasso, 1903 - The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 3

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

 

3/ Commentaire à venir 

Texte biblique : Nouveau Testament, Évangiles, Luc XXII, 14-20

"L'heure étant venue, il se mit à table, et les apôtres avec lui. Il leur dit: J'ai désiré vivement manger cette Pâque avec vous, avant de souffrir ; car, je vous le dis, je ne la mangerai plus, jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit accomplie dans le royaume de Dieu. Et, ayant pris une coupe et rendu grâces, il dit: Prenez cette coupe, et distribuez-la entre vous ; car, je vous le dis, je ne boirai plus désormais du fruit de la vigne, jusqu'à ce que le royaume de Dieu soit venu. Ensuite il prit du pain; et, après avoir rendu grâces, il le rompit, et le leur donna, en disant: Ceci est mon corps, qui est donné pour vous; faites ceci en mémoire de moi. Il prit de même la coupe, après le souper, et la leur donna, en disant: Cette coupe est la nouvelle alliance en mon sang, qui est répandu pour vous" (Luc, XXII, 14-20).

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE AU MOYEN-ÂGE DANS LES MANUSCRITS ILLUMINES

XIIème, nord de l'Angleterre
Évangéliaire de Spire, 1220
Livre d'heures de Madame Marie, 1285
Graduel à l'usage du couvent de Sion
En voir plus

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

Technique picturale (au même titre que la fresque ou la peinture de chevalet), l'enluminure est reine au cours du Moyen-Age. Exécutée à la main, elle décore ou illustre un texte, généralement un manuscrit. Si jusqu'au XIIème siècle les manuscrits sont copiés dans les établissements ecclésiastiques, principalement les abbayes, où ils servent à célébrer le culte et à nourrir la prière et la méditation ; à partir du XIIIème, un artisanat et un marché laïcs se développent avec l'essor de l'université et des administrations et l'émergence d'un nouveau public amateur de livres.

 

Découvrez le vin dans l'enluminure : De vin divin en vin Sacré >>

LE VIN DES ARTS : SCULPTURE ET VITRAUX

NOTRE-DAME, SCÈNES DE LA VIE DU CHRIST : LA CÈNE, Pierre de Chelles, 1300/18 - Clôture du chœur, coté nord
LA CENE, Saint-Sulpice, Breteuil-sur-Iton, Eure

SCÈNES DE LA VIE DU CHRIST : LA CÈNE, Pierre de Chelles, 1300/18 - Clôture du chœur, coté nord, Notre-Dame de Paris / L'INSTITUTION DE L'EUCHARISTIE, LA CENE, XVIème siècle - Eglise Saint-Sulpice, Breteuil-sur-Iton (Eure)

> Cliquez sur les œuvres pour les voir dans leur entier

Compagnon des Muses, le vin est à la croisée des arts, que ce soit, par exemple, la littérature, la musique, les arts décoratifs ou les arts plastiques. Dans tous les cas, le vin est un témoin irremplaçable de notre histoire sociale et culturelle. Si à ce jour, le MVV Musée Virtuel du Vin est principalement consacré à la peinture, quelques exemples puisés dans d’autres formes artistiques nous permettent également de l’illustrer, de "le voir". Ces deux exemples traitent du même thème que cette galerie de peinture.

 

Découvrez le Vin des Arts  >>

LE SANG DU CHRIST DANS LE NOUVEAU TESTAMENT ET L'ICONOGRAPHIE CHRETIENNE, LES GALERIES

Noces de Cana
Paraboles
Dernière Cène
Souper à Emmaüs
Vendange de la Terre
Rédemption
En voir plus