Marriage at Cana  |  Feast of Herod  |  Meal at Simon the Pharisee  |  Other Parables  |  Last Supper  |   Supper at Emmaus  |  Harvest of the Earth  |  Redemption

Herod’s Feast: a dark family drama turns to tragedy

Giotto,_Feast_of_Herod,_1315-25,_Capella_Peruzzi,_Santa_Croce,_Florence.jpg

 FEAST OF HEROD

Giotto dit Bondone (1267-1337)

1320 - Capella Peruzzi, Santa Croce, Florence

 

 

 

John the Baptist (who baptised Christ) is imprisoned after denouncing the incestuous marriage of ruler Herod Antipas with Herodias, his own niece and wife of his half-brother. Salome, Herodias’ daughter, dances for banquet’s guests to the dulcet tones of a vielle (a medieval string instrument). Her performance bewitches the king, who offers her anything she wants in return. Upon the advice of her mother, Salome demands the head of John the Baptist, which she presents to the king. She then passes it to Herodias as the musician continues to play.-

LE FESTIN D'HERODE ET LA DECAPITATION DU BAPTISTE Giovanni Baronzio, c. 1330/35 - The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

press to zoom

LA TETE DE JEAN-BAPTISTE EST MONTREE A HERODE Ecole d'Ulm, c. 1450 - Pinacothèque, Munich, Allemagne

press to zoom

SALOME DEMANDE A HERODE LA TÊTE DE JEAN BAPTISTE Giovanni di Paolo, 1455/60 - Art Institute of Chicago

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE ET LA DECAPITATION DE JEAN-BAPTISTE Benozzo Fozzoli, 1461/62 - National Gallery Of Art, Washnington

press to zoom

LE BANQUET D'HERODE Pedro Garcia Benabarre et son atelier, c. 1470 Musée national de Catalogne, Barcelone

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE Lucas Cranach l'Ancien 1531 - Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Hartford, CT, Etats-Unis

press to zoom

SALOME RECEIVES THE HEAD OF JOHN THE BAPTIST Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, ca. 1609/10 - National Gallery, London / 7

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE Pierre Paul Rubens, c. 1635/38 - Scottish National Gallery Edinburgh, Royaume-Uni

press to zoom

FESTIN D'HERODE Mattia Preti, 1656-61 - The Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, OH, Etats-Unis

press to zoom

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

 

7. ALike other artists, Caravaggio retains the bare essentials of this tragic scene. The executioner, brutal in appearance, places John the Baptist’s head on Salome’s platter with disgust; the young woman’s empty expression and sideways glance are enigmatic. An aged servant crosses her hands in sorrow. The composition might appear simple at first glance, but it actually depicts a powerful physical and psychological interaction between the two main protagonists. 

Bible text: New Testament, Marc VI, 17-29

"For Herod himself had sent forth and laid hold upon John, and bound him in prison for Herodias' sake, his brother Philip's wife: for he had married her. For John had said unto Herod, It is not lawful for thee to have thy brother's wife. Therefore Herodias had a quarrel against him, and would have killed him; but she could not: For Herod feared John, knowing that he was a just man and an holy, and observed him; and when he heard him, he did many things, and heard him gladly. And when a convenient day was come, that Herod on his birthday made a supper to his lords, high captains, and chief estates of Galilee; And when the daughter of the said Herodias came in, and danced, and pleased Herod and them that sat with him, the king said unto the damsel, Ask of me whatsoever thou wilt, and I will give it thee. And he sware unto her, Whatsoever thou shalt ask of me, I will give it thee, unto the half of my kingdom. And she went forth, and said unto her mother, What shall I ask? And she said, The head of John the Baptist. And she came in straightway with haste unto the king, and asked, saying, I will that thou give me by and by in a charger the head of John the Baptist. And the king was exceeding sorry; yet for his oath's sake, and for their sakes which sat with him, he would not reject her. And immediately the king sent an executioner, and commanded his head to be brought: and he went and beheaded him in the prison, And brought his head in a charger, and gave it to the damsel: and the damsel gave it to her mother. And when his disciples heard of it, they came and took up his corpse, and laid it in a tomb."

GALLERIES THE BLOOD OF CHRIST IN THE NEW TESTAMENT AND CHRISTIAN ICONOGRAPHY

>  Wine and Painting  >  From Divine to Sacred  >  The Blood of Christ in the New Testament and Christian Iconography  >  Feast of Herod

Le festin d'Hérode, une sombre histoire de famille au dénouement tragique

Giotto,_Feast_of_Herod,_1315-25,_Capella_Peruzzi,_Santa_Croce,_Florence.jpg

 LE FESTIN D'HÉRODE
Giotto dit Bondone (1267-1337)

1320 - Capella Peruzzi, Santa Croce, Florence

 

Jean-Baptiste (qui baptisa le Christ) est emprisonné suite à sa dénonciation du mariage incestueux du roi Hérode Antipas avec Hérodiade, sa propre nièce et épouse de son demi-frère. Salomé, fille d’Hérodiade, danse pour les convives d’un banquet accompagnée par la douce musique d'une vièle (instrument à cordes et à archet du Moyen Âge). Elle subjugue le roi qui lui offre ce qu’elle désire en récompense. Conseillée par sa mère, Salomé réclame la tête de Jean-Baptiste qu'elle présente au roi après qu'elle lui soit remise. Elle la remet ensuite à Hérodiade tandis que le musicien continue de jouer.

LE FESTIN D'HERODE ET LA DECAPITATION DU BAPTISTE Giovanni Baronzio, c. 1330/35 - The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

press to zoom

LA TETE DE JEAN-BAPTISTE EST MONTREE A HERODE Ecole d'Ulm, c. 1450 - Pinacothèque, Munich, Allemagne

press to zoom

SALOME DEMANDE A HERODE LA TÊTE DE JEAN BAPTISTE Giovanni di Paolo, 1455/60 - Art Institute of Chicago

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE ET LA DECAPITATION DE JEAN-BAPTISTE Benozzo Fozzoli, 1461/62 - National Gallery Of Art, Washnington

press to zoom

LE BANQUET D'HERODE Pedro Garcia Benabarre et son atelier, c. 1470 Musée national de Catalogne, Barcelone

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE Lucas Cranach l'Ancien 1531 - Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Hartford, CT, Etats-Unis

press to zoom

SALOME RECOIT LA TÊTE DE JEAN BAPTISTE Caravage, 1609 - National Gallery, Londres / 7

press to zoom

LE FESTIN D'HERODE Pierre Paul Rubens, c. 1635/38 - Scottish National Gallery Edinburgh, Royaume-Uni

press to zoom

FESTIN D'HERODE Mattia Preti, 1656-61 - The Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, OH, Etats-Unis

press to zoom

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

 

7. A l'instar d'autres artistes, Caravage ne retient de ce festin que l'essentiel de cette scène au dénouement tragique. Le bourreau, à l'allure brutale, place avec dégoût la tête de Jean sur le plateau que tient Salomé, dont l’expression vide et le regard latéral sont énigmatiques. Une servante âgée croise ses mains de chagrin. Si la composition peut au premier abord sembler simple, elle montre en fait une forte interaction physique et psychologique entre les principaux protagonistes.

Texte biblique : Nouveau Testament, Évangiles, Marc VI, 17-29

".. Hérode lui-même avait fait arrêter Jean, et l'avait fait lier en prison, à cause d'Hérodias, femme de Philippe, son frère, parce qu'il l'avait épousée, et que Jean lui disait : Il ne t'est pas permis d'avoir la femme de ton frère. Hérodias était irritée contre Jean, et voulait le faire mourir. Mais elle ne le pouvait ; car Hérode craignait Jean, le connaissant pour un homme juste et saint ; il le protégeait, et, après l'avoir entendu, il était souvent perplexe, et l'écoutait avec plaisir. Cependant, un jour propice arriva, lorsque Hérode, à l'anniversaire de sa naissance, donna un festin à ses grands, aux chefs militaires et aux principaux de la Galilée. La fille d'Hérodias entra dans la salle; elle dansa, et plut à Hérode et à ses convives. Le roi dit à la jeune fille : Demande-moi ce que tu voudras, et je te le donnerai. Il ajouta avec serment : Ce que tu me demanderas, je te le donnerai, fût-ce la moitié de mon royaume. Étant sortie, elle dit à sa mère : Que demanderais-je? Et sa mère répondit : La tête de Jean Baptiste. Elle s'empressa de rentrer aussitôt vers le roi, et lui fit cette demande : Je veux que tu me donnes à l'instant, sur un plat, la tête de Jean Baptiste. Le roi fut attristé ; mais, à cause de ses serments et des convives, il ne voulut pas lui faire un refus. Il envoya sur-le-champ un garde, avec ordre d'apporter la tête de Jean Baptiste. Le garde alla décapiter Jean dans la prison, et apporta la tête sur un plat. Il la donna à la jeune fille, et la jeune fille la donna à sa mère. Les disciples de Jean, ayant appris cela, vinrent prendre son corps, et le mirent dans un sépulcre."

LE SANG DU CHRIST DANS LE NOUVEAU TESTAMENT ET L'ICONOGRAPHIE CHRETIENNE, LES GALERIES