From Divine to Sacred: Nectar of the Gods, The Blood of the Grapes, and the Blood of Christ

Debarking from Noah's Ark and the Drunkenness of Noah, Bedford Hours, ca. 1430 - British Library, London | From Divine to Sacred: Nectar of the Gods, Blood of the Grapes, Blood of Christ | Illumination | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

DEBARKING FROM NOAH'S ARK AND THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH - detail

Bedford Hours (Book of Hours), ca. 1430

British Library, London

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Bedford Hours is in fact a ‘Book of Hours’ from Paris, illuminated in the city during the first third of the fifteenth century. Most of the miniatures have been attributed to an anonymous master and members of his workshop, now known collectively as ‘the Bedford Master’. The manuscript belonged to John of Lancaster, Duke of Bedford. He was the third son of the English king Henry IV, and became Regent of the Kingdom of France in 1422, after the death of his brother Henry V, whose son and heir – the future Henry VI – was only nine months old.

 

In 1423, at Troyes, John of Lancaster married Anne of Burgundy, daughter of the Duke of Burgundy Jean the Fearless, his ally against the Valois side in the Hundred Years War. The manuscript must have been commissioned at this time. In 1430, Anne of Burgundy and John of Lancaster gave the work to the young Henry VI, now aged nine, while he was living in Rouen and awaiting his coronation as King of France. The military successes of Joan of Arc put paid to this, of course.


This miniature, entitled Debarking from Noah’s Ark, also evokes the Drunkenness of the great patriarch during the harvest and pressing of the grapes.

NECTAR OF THE GODS

BACCHUS
Livre des échecs amoureux moralisés, 1496/98 - BnF, Paris
BACCHUS, THE GOD OF WINE
Livre des échecs amoureux, Hainaut, 15th Century - BnF, Paris / 2
BACCHUS AND HIS FOLLOWERS DRINKING WINE
Livre de la Reine, Epitre d'Othea, ca. 1410/11 - BL, London / 3

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

2. "Bacchus was called a god by the Ancients because of the marvelous properties of wine and its various effects on the human body, according to the type of wine, the type of person drinking and the quantity in which it is drunk. [...] The fact that this god was represented as a young child with feminine features symbolises well the nature of wine, because of the way that young children are happy, optimistic and generous by nature [...] taken in moderation, wine makes man joyful and optimistic in much the same way [...] Furthermore, as the female face is gracious, soft, amiable and pleasant to behold, wine drunk in moderation is agreeable, pleasant, soft and amiable, especially to men. The female face draws in the beholder, and often deceives and maddens him so much that he refuses to turn away from the promised pleasure; wine attracts the drinker who, for the pleasure of it, only wants to drink, in much the same way. [...] The horns symbolise the bestiality of the excessive drinker, because overconsumption of wine can lead to the loss of reason and make the victim resemble a horned beast. The tiger, an animal that is deceptive, cruel and quick to the chase, shows us the fury and the violence to which wine can bring the drinker [...]” (Source: BNF).

 

3. Although the myth of Dionysus was known in the Middle Ages, it has left few traces for today’s researchers. Christine de Pisan describes him as a “black angel” and her view of the myth is overtly negative: "Au dieu Bacus point ne t'acordes / Car ses conditions sont ordes / Non vaillables en ses depors / Les gens fait transmuer en pors".  (“Give thyself not to Bacchus / For his way is odious / Worthless in their disports / His people transform into hogs”).

THE BLOOD OF THE GRAPES IN THE OLD TESTAMENT

THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Biblia Pauperum, ca. 1395-1400 - British Library, London
THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH Petrus Comestor, 1372
Koninklijke Bibliotheek, The Hague, The Netherlands / 2
NOAH WINEGROWING, THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Miroir historial, Vincent de Beauvais, 1463 - BnF, Paris
BELSHAZZAR'S FEAST
Petrus Comestor, 1372
Koninklijke Bibliotheek, The Hague, The Netherlands
BELSHAZZAR'S FEAST
Utrecht Bible, 1430 - Koninklijke Bibliotheek, The Hague, The Netherlands
BELSHAZZAR'S FEAST
Speculum Humanæ Salvationis, 1450 - The Hague, The Netherlands

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

2. In this image it is not his genitals, but his buttocks that the drunken Noah inadvertently reveals to his sons. Ham is shown in pale blue, gesturing towards his father. To the left, Japhet – also in blue – lifts the sheet and sees Noah’s nakedness. In the centre Shem, whose red clothes contrast with those of his brothers, intervenes and tries to replace the covering.

THE BLOOD OF THE CHRIST IN THE NEW TESTAMENT AND CHRISTIAN ICONOGRAPHY

MARRIAGE AT CANA
Illuminated Bible, 1197 - City Library, Amiens, France
MARRIAGE AT CANA
Tres Belles Heures de ND du duc de Berry, 1380s - BnF, Paris / 2
MARRIAGE AT CANA Roman de Dieu et sa mère
In the early 15th Century - City Library, Besançon, France
THE LAST SUPPER
The Floreffe Bible, ca. 1165 - British Museum, London
THE LAST SUPPER 12th century, North of England
Bodleian Library, Oxford University, United Kingdom
THE LAST SUPPER
The Speyer Evangeliarium, Codex Bruschal, 1220 - Karlsruhe
THE LAST SUPPER
Lectionary, 1227/74, Austria - Morgan Library, New York
THE LAST SUPPER
13th century, Bruges - Bodleian Library, Oxford University, Unite Kingdom
LAST SUPPER
Livre d'heures de Madame Marie, 1285 - BnF, Paris
THE LAST SUPPER
Speculum humanæ salvationis, ca. 1360 - Darmstadt, Germany
THE LAST SUPPER
ca. 1488 - Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris
THE LAST SUPPER
For the Sion Covent use, 1505 - Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris
THE HARVEST OF NATIONS (THE HARVEST OF THE EARTH)
Revelation, ca. 1450 - City Library, France / 13
CHRIST IN THE WINEPRESS
ce. 1400/10 - ONB, Vienna, Austria / 14
CHRIST IN THE WINEPRESS
Livre de prière d'Ulrich de Montfort, ca. 1515/20 - Vienna, Austria

>Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

2. The Marriage at Cana, included in the Tres Riches Heures de Notre-dame du Duc de Berry, illustrates the pages of Vespers of the Virgin. The scene shows Christ’s first miracle: the transformation of water into wine. In line with tradition, the bride is seated rigidly in the centre of the scene, her parents to her right. To the left, Mary prays while watching her son blessing the wine. The groom is nowhere to be seen.

 

13. The Harvest of the Nations refers back to a passage from the Book of Revelations (14:18-20): “... And another angel came out from the altar, who had power over fire, and he cried with a loud cry to him who had the sharp sickle, saying ‘Thrust in your sharp sickle and gather the clusters of the vine of the earth, for her grapes are fully ripe.’ So the angel thrust his sickle into the earth and gathered the vine of the earth, and threw it into the great winepress of the wrath of God. And the winepress was trampled outside the city, and blood came out of the winepress, up to the horses’ bridles, for one thousand six hundred furlongs.”(cf. The Harvest of the Earth by Jacobello Alberegno).

 

14. The Mystical Winepress shows Christ being crushed like a bunch of grapes. This image emerged at a time when the ideal of self-sacrifice played a major role in Christian devotion. It appears very rarely in manuscript miniatures.

GALLERIES IN ILLUMINATION

From Divine to Sacred
Fr. Drinking to Savoir-boire
From Vineyard to Port
En voir plus

>  Wine and Painting   >  In Illumination   >  From Divine to Sacred

THE VIRTUAL WINE MUSEUM - LE MUSEE VIRTUEL DU VIN

Across the Arts, the story of wine from Antiquity to the present day  /  Le Vin des Arts, une histoire du vin de l'Antiquité à nos jours

De vin divin en vin Sacré : nectar des dieux, sang de la vigne et sang du Christ

"La Sortie de l'Arche et l'ivresse de Noé", Bedford Hours, c. 1430 - British Library, Londres | De vin divin en vin Sacré : Nectar des dieux, Sang de la vigne, Sang du Christ | Enluminure | Vin et Peinture | Le Musée Virtuel du Vin

LA SORTIE DE L'ARCHE ET L'IVRESSE DE NOE (vue partielle)

Bedford Hours (Book of Hours)

Enlumineur : Bedford Master

c. 1430

British Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Les Heures dites de Bedford sont un livre d'heures à l'usage de Paris, enluminé dans cette même ville dans le premier tiers du XVe siècle. La plupart de ses miniatures sont attribuées à un maître anonyme et son atelier qui tire son nom d'usage de cet ouvrage : le Maître de Bedford. Le manuscrit a en effet sans doute appartenu à Jean de Lancastre, duc de Bedford. Il est le troisième fils de Henri IV d'Angleterre et devient régent du royaume de France à la mort de son frère en 1422, Henri V, alors que son neveu Henri VI n'a que neuf mois.

 

En 1423, à Troyes, il se marie avec Anne de Bourgogne, la fille du duc de Bourgogne Jean sans Peur, son allié contre les Valois dans la guerre de Cent Ans. C'est à l'occasion de ce mariage que le manuscrit est commandé à Paris. En 1430, Anne de Bourgogne et Jean de Lancastre font cadeau de l'ouvrage au jeune Henri VI, âgé de neuf ans, alors qu'ils résident à Rouen en attendant son couronnement en tant que roi de France. Les succès militaires de Jeanne d'Arc mettent en attente ce projet. 

Cette miniature intitulée La sortie de l'Arche de Noé évoque également l'ivresse du patriarche de l'humanité, alors que les vendanges sont en cours et que l'on foule au pied le raisin.

NECTAR DES DIEUX

BACCHUS Livre des échecs amoureux moralisés, 1496-1498 - BNF, Paris

press to zoom

BACCHUS, DIEU DU VIN Livre des échecs amoureux, Hainaut, XVème - BNF, Paris (2)

press to zoom

BACCHUS ET SES DISCIPLES BUVANT DU VIN Livre de la Reine, Epître d'Othea, c. 1410-1411 - BL, Londres (3)

press to zoom

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

2." Bacchus fut appelé dieu par les anciens à cause des propriétés merveilleuses du vin et des effets divers qu'il exerce sur le corps humain, selon la complexité de sa nature, la variété des personnes qui en boivent, et selon la quantité qu'on en boit. […]. Le fait que ce dieu était représenté comme un jeune enfant aux traits féminins symbolise bien la nature du vin, car de même que les jeunes enfants sont heureux, optimistes et généreux par nature, […] de même le vin pris modérément rend l'homme joyeux et optimiste […]. De plus, comme le visage féminin est gracieux, doux, aimable et plaisant à voir, le vin pris avec modération est agréable, plaisant, doux et aimable aux hommes plus que tout. Le visage de la femme attire celui qui le regarde, et bien souvent le trompe et l'affole tellement qu'il ne voudrait plus s'en détourner à cause du plaisir que ce visage lui promet ; de même le bon vin attire le buveur, qui y prend un tel plaisir qu'il ne voudrait rien faire d'autre que boire. […]. Les cornes symbolisent la bestialité à laquelle le vin pris exagérément ramène celui qui boit, car il lui fait perdre l'usage de la raison et le fait ressembler à un animal cornu. Le tigre, qui est traître, cruel et très rapide à la course, nous montre à quelle fureur et à quelle violence le vin amène les ivrognes […]" (Source : BNF).

 

3. Si on connaissait le mythe dionysien au Moyen-Âge, on en voit peu la trace. Chez Christine de Pisan, à l'origine de l'Epître d'Othea, il est présenté comme un "ange noir" et l'interprétation du mythe est carrément négative : "Au dieu Bacus point ne t'acordes / Car ses conditions sont ordes / Non vaillables en ses depors / Les gens fait transmuer en pors".

SANG DE LA VIGNE DANS L'ANCIEN TESTAMENT

L'IVRESSE DE NOE Biblia Pauperum, c. 1395-1400 - British Library, Londres

press to zoom

L'IVRESSE DE NOE Petrus Comestor, 1372 - Koninklijke Bibliotheek, La Haye (2)

press to zoom

NOE CULTIVANT SA VIGNE, L'IVRESSE DE NOE Miroir historial, Vincent de Beauvais, 1463 - BNF, Paris

press to zoom

LE FESTIN DE BALTHASAR Petrus Comestor, 1372 - Koninklijke Bibliotheek, La Haye

press to zoom

LE FESTIN DE BALTHASAR Bible d'Utrecht, 1430 - Koninklijke Bibliotheek, La Haye

press to zoom

LE FESTIN DE BALTHAZAR Speculum humanæ salvationis, 1450 - La Haye

press to zoom

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

2. Ce n’est pas son sexe, mais exceptionnellement ses fesses que Noé ivre dévoile à ses fils. Cham en bleu clair à droite le montre du doigt. A gauche, Jafet, également en bleu, écoutant Cham, soulève le drap et révèle la nudité de Noé. Sem au centre, dont le vêtement rouge contraste avec celui de ses frères, s’interpose et tente de rabaisser le drap.

SANG DU CHRIST DANS LE NOUVEAU TESTAMENT ET L'ICONOGRAPHIE CHRETIENNE

NOCES DE CANA Bible en images, 1197 - BM, Amiens

press to zoom

NOCES DE CANA Très Belles Heures de ND du duc de Berry, 1380s - BNF, Paris (2)

press to zoom

NOCES DE CANA Roman de Dieu et sa mère, début XVème - BM, Besançon

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE Bible de Floreffe, c. 1165 - British Museum, Londres

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE XIIème, nord de l'Angleterre - Biblioth. bodléienne, Oxford

press to zoom

LA DERNIERE CENE Evangéliaire de Spire dit "Codex Bruchsal", 1220 - Karlsruhe

press to zoom

DERNIÈRE CÈNE Lectionnaire, 1227-1274, Autriche - Morgan Library

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE XIIIème, Bruges - Biblioth. bodléienne, Oxford

press to zoom

LA CÈNE Livre d'heures de Madame Marie, 1285 - BNF, Paris

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE Speculum humanæ salvationis, c. 1360 - Darmstadt

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE Recueil, c. 1488 - Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris

press to zoom

LA DERNIÈRE CÈNE Graduel à l'usage du couvent de Sion, 1505 - Bibl. Mazarine

press to zoom

VENDANGE DES NATIONS (VENDANGE DE LA TERRE) Apocalypse, c. 1450 - BM Lyon (13)

press to zoom

CHRIST AU PRESSOIR c. 1400-1410 - ONB, Vienne (14)

press to zoom

CHRIST AU PRESSOIR Livre de prière d'Ulrich de Montfort, c. 1515-1520 - Vienne

press to zoom

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

2. Les Noces de Cana des Très riches heures de Notre-Dame du duc de Berry illustrent les Vêpres de la Vierge et montrent le premier miracle du Christ, la transformation de l’eau en vin. Conformément à l’usage, la mariée est assise au milieu dans une posture rigide, ses parents à sa droite. À sa gauche, Marie en prière observe son fils bénissant le vin. Le marié est absent.

 

13. La Vendange des nations fait référence à un passage de l'Apocalypse (XIV, 14-20) : "... Et un autre ange, qui avait autorité sur le feu, sortit de l'autel, et s'adressa d'une voix forte à celui qui avait la faucille tranchante, disant: Lance ta faucille tranchante, et vendange les grappes de la vigne de la terre; car les raisins de la terre sont mûrs. Et l'ange jeta sa faucille sur la terre. Et il vendangea la vigne de la terre, et jeta la vendange dans la grande cuve de la colère de Dieu. Et la cuve fut foulée hors de la ville; et du sang sortit de la cuve, jusqu'aux mors des chevaux, sur une étendue de mille six cents stades." (cf.La Vendange de la Terre de Jacobello Alberegno).

 

14.Le Pressoir mystique fait voir le Christ pressé tel une grappe. Cette image apparaît à une époque où la notion de sacrifice prend une place majeure dans la dévotion chrétienne. Elle est très peu représentée dans les miniatures. 

EN ENLUMINURE : LES GALERIES

>  Vin et peinture   >  En enluminure   >  De vin divin en vin Sacré