From Vineyard to Harvest, and from Cellar to Port

 The Very Rich Hours of the Duke of Berry, Calendar, March - Barthélémy d'Eyck, ca. 1440 - Musée Condé, Chantilly | Illumination | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

THE VERY RICH HOURS OF THE DUKE OF BERRY, CALENDAR, MARCH

(TRÈS RICHES HEURES DU DUC DE BERRY, CALENDRIER, MARS)

Barthélémy d'Eyck, ca. 1440

Musée Condé, Chantilly, France

The Très Riches Heures du duc de Berry was the culmination of a project spanning more than 80 years. It was commissioned by the Duke of Berry from the de Limbourg brothers around 1410-11. Left unfinished when the three painters and their sponsor died in 1416, some of the manuscript’s miniatures were probably completed in the 1440s by an anonymous painter, whom some art historians believe to have been Barthélemy d’Eyck. In 1485-89, the work was completed by the painter Jean Colombe on behalf of the Duke of Savoy. This illumination is included in the first and most famous part of the manuscript: the calendar. The month of March is illustrated by the agricultural labour carried out at the end of winter. Each field contains a different part of the work; all are separated by paths which cross at a monument known as a ‘montjoie’. In the foreground, a peasant works in a cornfield. He is driving a two-wheeled plough, pulled by two cows, with the help of a long stick. In an enclosure on the right, vineyard workers are pruning a mass of vines and tilling the soil with a hoe to aerate it. March has always been the best month for pruning.

> Pour agrandir l'oeuvre, cliquez sur l'image

On the right, a man is hunched over a bag; doubtless it contains seeds for sowing. In the background, a shepherd is accompanied by his sheepdog. The Chateau de Lusignan, in the Poiteau region of France, dominates the scene. The castle was modernised by the Duc de Berry, its owner. To the right of the image, above one of the towers, flies a winged dragon representing the fairy Melusine. In 1392, Jean d’Arras wrote the Noble histoire de Lusignan, also known as the Roman de Mélusine, for Jean de Berry. It is the story of the fairy, an imaginary ancestor of the Duc de Berry. According to legend, Mélusine gave birth to the Lusignan bloodline and built the fortress. The wife of Raymondin de Lusignan, she promised him wealth and happiness, on the condition that he must never see her on Saturdays, when she took on the appearance of a dragon. One day, Raymondin broke his promise and watched his wife bathing. Thus unmasked, the fairy fled.

 

A Book of Hours is a liturgical book aimed at Catholic laymen – unlike a breviary, written for clerics – which allows the reader to follow the liturgy of the Hours. In addition to prayers written for every hour of the day, the Book of Hours usually includes a calendar which follows the evolution of the liturgy throughout the year. It was the most popular type of illuminated document, though not all manuscripts were illustrated. Such documents provide important information about life at the end of the Middle Ages and are a source of Medieval Christian iconography.


During the Middle Ages, vines surrounded towns and cities almost regardless of climate. This proximity was doubtless a means of avoiding transporting the wine, which was subject to heavy taxes and the various hazards of the period. People only drank wine produced in their local area. Anything was preferable to water! Viticulture is very widely represented in illuminations – the only iconography of the time to show genre scenes.

IN THE VINEYARDS

GRAPE VINES' PLANTATION Weinbau Pslater, March, 1180 / 1

press to zoom

VINES TRAINED TO GROW UP TREE TRUNKS FOR SUPPORT Tacuinum Sanitatis, 1474 - BnF, Paris / 2

press to zoom

PRUNING Weinbau Pslater, March, 1180 / 3

press to zoom

PRUNING THE VINE Agronomy book, March Pietro de Crescenzi, 1459 - Condé Museum, Chantilly, France / 4

press to zoom

PRUNING ca. 1478/80 - British Library, London / 5

press to zoom

THE MONTH OF MARCH Grimani Breviary, 1490-1510 Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Venice, Venice, Italy / 6

press to zoom

SPRING Livre des propriétés des choses, 1480 - BnF, Paris / 7

press to zoom

PRUNING, MARCH Missel de l'abbaye de Montierneuf, ca. 1485? - BnF, Paris / 8

press to zoom

PRUNING, THE MONTH OF MARCH Heures de Catherine de Médicis, 1500?-1550? - BnF, Paris / 9

press to zoom

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

1 to 9. March and September marked the two biggest moments of the year: the pruning of the vine and the harvest. Sometimes these tasks overflowed into the months of April (late pruning), August (harvest and winemaking preparations) and October (late harvest and/or pressing of the grapes). The end of the winter was also the moment of planting (Weinbau Psalter) and building up the earth (Bréviaire Grimani). Today, this latter task is carried out in November or December. For vineyards built on slopes and subject to water flows, the vines planted on the summit of hills tend to shift; the surrounding soil needs to be built back up.

 

4. Pietro de' Crescenzi’s Book of Rural Benefits illustrates the vine pruning process. This was done with a wide-bladed knife. The worker, stooping forward, grabs the vine shoot above the blade, which he is holding in his right hand. In the background, another peasant carries out the same task, kneeling to reach the lowest branches.. 

THE GRAPE HARVEST

HARVEST Weinbau Psalter, 1180 - The Hague / 1

press to zoom

HARVEST Miracles de Notre-Dame 13 th century (third quarter) - City Library, Besançon, France / 2

press to zoom

TREADING OF THE GRAPE Weinbau Psalter, 1180 - The Hague / 3

press to zoom

GRAPE CARRYING DURING HARVEST Martyrologe de St-Germain-des-Prés, 1270 - BnF, Paris / 4

press to zoom

LABOURS OF THE MONTH: SEPTEMBER Queen Mary Psalter, ca. 1310 - British Library, London / 5

press to zoom

TREADING VAT Heures de Marguerite d'Orléans,1430 - BnF, Paris / 6

press to zoom

BARREL HOOPING Officium Beatae Mariae Virginis,1385 - Bologna, Italy / 7

press to zoom

BARRELS AND BRENTA Justinien, Digestum Vetus, Bologna, ca. 1345 - BnF, Paris / 8

press to zoom

MAN MAKING WINE, IN THE CALENDAR OF SEPTEMBER Psalter, France, ca. 1250 - British Library, Londres / 9

press to zoom

VINES CLIMBING ON PERGOLA 1385 - Bologna, Italy

press to zoom

AUTUMN Tacuinum Sanitatis, ca. 1390 - Munich, Germany

press to zoom

MEN MAKING WINE The Dunois Hours September, ca. 1440-1450 - British Library, London

press to zoom

HARVEST, TREADING, AND TOPPING-UP Grandes Heures de Rohan, October, 1430/35 - BnF, Paris

press to zoom

THE MONTH OF SEPTEMBER Grimani Breviary ca. 1510/20 - Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Venice, Italy

press to zoom

HARVEST IN CHATEAU D'HESDIN GARDENS Jean Mielot for the Duke Philippe le Bon, ca. 1460

press to zoom

TREADING AND WINE PRESSING Heures à l'usage de Rome, ca. 1510/25 - City Library, Rouen, France

press to zoom

HARVEST Hours for Cluny Abbey, ca. 1500 - City Library, Amiens, France

press to zoom

TREADING AND BARREL FILLING Livre d Heures Jean Marion, 1500 - Munich, Germany

press to zoom

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

FROM CELLAR TO PORT

MONK IN CHARGE OF THE CELLAR AND TASTING WINE Livre de Santé for Aldebrandino of Sienna, 14th century - BL, London

press to zoom

MONKEY DRAWING WINE Pontifical de Guillaume Durand ca. 1357 - Ste-Genevieve Library, Paris

press to zoom

TOPPING-UP Redevancier de St-Germain-des-Prés ca. 1530 - Archives Nationales, Paris, France

press to zoom

HARVEST, WINEMAKING, AND TASTING WITH MERCHANTS Livre d'heures, October, ca. 1540

press to zoom

MERCHANT, BUYING GRAIN AND WINE National Library, The Hague, The Netherlands

press to zoom

WINE MARKET AT THE PORT OF BRUGES Flemish calendar, October, ca. 1530 - Munich

press to zoom

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

GALLERIES IN ILLUMINATION

>  Wine and Painting   >  In Illumination   >  From Vineyard to Port

De vigne en vendange, de cave en port

Très Riches heures du Duc de Berry, calendrier, mars - Barthélémy d'Eyck, c. 1440 - Musée Condé, Chantilly | De vigne en vendange, de cave en port | Enluminure | Vin et Peinture | Le Musée Vituel du Vin

TRÈS RICHES HEURES DU DUC DE BERRY, CALENDRIER, MARS

Barthélémy d'Eyck, c. 1440

Musée Condé, Chantilly

Les Très Riches Heures du duc de Berry sont l'aboutissement d’un travail échelonné sur plus de 80 ans. Ce manuscrit est commandé par le duc de Berry aux frères de Limbourg vers 1410-1411. Inachevé à leur mort et à celle de leur commanditaire en 1416, il est probablement complété, dans certaines miniatures, par un peintre anonyme dans les années 1440 (Barthélemy d'Eyck ?). En 1485-1489, il est achevé dans son état actuel par le peintre Jean Colombe pour le compte du duc de Savoie. Cette enluminure entre dans la composition de la première partie du manuscrit, la plus célèbre, le calendrier. Le mois de mars est illustré par les travaux agricoles de la fin de l'hiver. Chaque champ contient une étape différente des travaux, tous séparés par des chemins se croisant au niveau d'un édicule appelé une "montjoie". Au premier plan, un paysan laboure un champ de céréales à l'aide d'une charrue à versoir et avant-train muni de deux roues, le tout tiré par deux bœufs, l'homme les dirigeant à l'aide d'une longue gaule. Des vignerons taillent la vigne dans un enclos à gauche et labourent le sol à l'aide d'une houe pour l'aérer. Pour la vigne, mars est depuis toujours le meilleur mois pour la taille. La vigne est cultivée en foule.

> Pour agrandir l'oeuvre, cliquez sur l'image

Sur la droite, un homme se penche sur un sac, sans doute pour y puiser des graines qu'il va ensuite semer. Enfin, dans le fond, un berger emmène le chien qui garde son troupeau. À l'arrière-plan figure le château de Lusignan (Poitou), propriété du duc de Berry qui l'a fait moderniser. On voit à droite de l'image, au-dessus de la tour poitevine, un dragon ailé représentant la fée Mélusine. En 1392, Jean d'Arras a composé pour Jean de Berry la Noble histoire de Lusignan, appelé aussi Roman de Mélusine, dans laquelle il raconte l'histoire de la fée, ancêtre imaginaire du duc. Selon la légende, Mélusine a donné naissance à la lignée des Lusignan et serait le bâtisseur de la forteresse. Épouse de Raymondin de Lusignan, elle lui a promis la richesse et le bonheur, à la condition qu'il ne la voit jamais le samedi, jour où son corps prend l'apparence d'un dragon. Un jour, Raymondin rompt le pacte et observe sa femme au bain. La fée s'enfuit alors en prenant la forme d'un dragon.

 

 

Un livre d'heures est un livre liturgique destiné aux fidèles catholiques laïcs - à l'inverse du bréviaire, destiné aux clercs - et permettant de suivre la liturgie des Heures. En complément de ce recueil de prières liées aux heures de la journée, le livre d'heures comprend généralement un calendrier pour suivre l'évolution de la liturgie tout au long de l'année. Il s'agit du type le plus courant d'ouvrage médiéval enluminé même si tous ne comportent pas de décorations. Ils constituent à ce titre une importante documentation sur la vie à la fin du Moyen Âge et sont la source d'une iconographie sur la chrétienté médiévale.

 

Au Moyen-Âge, presque sous tous les climats, les vignobles ceinturaient les villes, petites et grandes. C'était sans doute un moyen d'éviter les transports onéreux du vin, sujets à de lourdes taxes et aléatoires dans les conditions de l'époque. Aussi buvait-on les vins de son coin et on n'en consommait pas d'autres. Tout était meilleur que l'eau pure ! Les travaux viticoles sont très présents dans l'enluminure, seule iconographie de l'époque traitant des scènes de genre.

EN VIGNE

PLANTATION DE PIEDS DE VIGNE (1) Weinbau Pslater, Mars, 1180

VIGNE CONDUITE EN HUTEAU ARBORE (2) Tacuinum Sanitatis, 1474 - BNF, Paris

TAILLE DE LA VIGNE (3) Weinbau Pslater, Mars, 1180

HOMMES TRAVAILLANT DANS LA VIGNE (4) Heures de Dunois, Mars, c. 1440-1450 - British Library, Londres

LA TAILLE DE LA VIGNE (5) Traité d’agronomie, Mars, Pietro de' Crescenzi, 1459 - Musée Condé

TAILLE DE LA VIGNE ET REMONTÉES DE TERRE (6) Bréviaire Grimani, Mars, 1490-1510 - BN Marciana, Venise

LE PRINTEMPS (7) Livre des propriétés des choses, 1480 - BNF, Paris

LA TAILLE DES VIGNES (MARS) (8) Missel de l'abbaye de Montierneuf, c. 1485 ? - BNF, Paris

TAILLE DE LA VIGNE, MOIS DE MARS (9) Heures de Catherine de Médicis, 1500 ?-1550 ? - BNF, Paris

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

1 à 9. Les mois de mars et septembre évoquent les deux grands moments de la viticulture : la taille de la vigne et les vendanges. Il en est de même parfois des mois d'avril (taille tardive), août (préparation de la vendange et de la vinification) et octobre (vendanges tardives et/ou foulage du raisin. La fin de l'hiver est également le moment de la plantation de nouveaux plants (Weinbau Psalter), des remontées de terre (Bréviaire Grimani). De nos jours, le remontage de la terre a lieu en novembre ou décembre. Pour les vignobles en pente et sous l'action des ruissellements, les ceps plantés au sommet des coteaux se déchaussent peu à peu ; il faut donc procéder à une remise en place de la terre.

 

5. Le Traité d'agronomie de Pietro de' Crescenzi illustre bien le travail des vignerons lors de la taille de la vigne. Elle s’effectue à l’aide d’une serpe à dos tranchant et saillant, avec une lame assez large. Le paysan, penché en avant, saisit de sa main gauche le sarment au-dessus de la serpe, qu’il tient de sa main droite. Au second plan, un autre paysan répète le même geste, mais agenouillé pour pouvoir tailler des branches plus basses.

EN VENDANGE

VENDANGE Weinbau Psalter, 1180 - La Haye (1)

VENDANGE Miracles de Notre-Dame, XIIIème (Trois. quart) - BM Besançon (2)

FOULAGE Weinbau Psalter, 1180 - La Haye (3)

PORTAGE DU RAISIN LORS DES VENDANGES Martyrologe de St-Germain-des-Prés, 1270 - BNF, Paris (4)

VASTE CUVE A FOULER Psautier de la reine Marie, c. 1310 - British Library, Londres (5)

CUVE A FOULER AVEC ÉCOULEMENT DU JUS Heures de Marguerite d'Orléans,1430 - BNF, Paris (6)

CERCLAGE DES TONNEAUX Officium Beatae Mariae Virginis,1385 - Bologne (7)

TONNEAUX ET BRENTA, HOTTE EN FORME DE CORNE Justinien, Digestum vetus, Bologne, c. 1345 - BNF, Paris (8)

SEPTEMBRE Psautier, Septembre, c. 1250 - British Library, Londres (9)

SARMENTS ACCROCHES A UNE PERGOLA 1385 - Bologne

AUTOMNE Tacuinum Sanitatis, c. 1390 - Munich

HOMMES FAISANT DU VIN Heures de Dunois, Septembre, c. 1440-1450 - British Library, Londres

VENDANGES, FOULAGE ET OUILLAGE Grandes Heures de Rohan, Octobre, 1430-35 - BNF, Paris

LE MOIS DE SEPTEMBRE Bréviaire de Grimani, c. 1510-1520 - Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Venise

VENDANGE DANS LES JARDINS DU CHÂTEAU D'HESDIN Jean Miélot pour le compte de Philippe le Bon, 1455-1461

FOULAGE ET PRESSURAGE DU RAISIN Heures à l'usage de Rome, c. 1510-1525 - BM, Rouen

VENDANGES Heures à l'usage de Cluny, c. 1500 - BM, Amiens

FOULAGE ET ENTONNAGE Livre d Heures Jean Marion, 1500 - Munich

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

DE CAVE EN PORT

MOINE CELLÉRIER GOÛTANT LE VIN Livre de Santé d'Aldebrandino de Sienne, XIVème - BL, Londres

SINGE TIRANT DU VIN Pontifical de Guillaume Durand, c. 1357 - Bibl. Ste-Geneviève

OUILLAGE Redevancier de St-Germain-des-Prés, c. 1530 - Archives Nationales

VENDANGE, VINIFICATION ET DÉGUSTATION AVEC LES MARCHANDS Livre d'heures, Octobre, c. 1540

MARCHAND, ACHETEUR DE GRAINS ET DE VIN Bibliothèque Nationale des Pays-Bas

MARCHE AUX VINS DU PORT DE BRUGES Calendrier flamand, Octobre, c. 1530 - Munich

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

EN ENLUMINURE : LES GALERIES

>  Vin et peinture   >  En enluminure   >  De vigne en port