Wine and the pleasure of friendship

Dinner at the House of M. and Mme Natanson, Toulouse-Lautrec, 1898 - Private Collection | With Friends | Social Life and Life in Society | From Drinking to Savoir-boire | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

 

DINNER AT THE HOUSE OF M. AND MME NATANSON

(DÎNER CHEZ MONSIEUR ET MADAME NATANSON)  
Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (1864-1901)  

1898
Private Collection

 

 

In the 19th century good wine, paired with good cheer, became a way of honoring one’s friends. In his ‘Cultural and Social History of Wine’ (published by Larousse), Gilbert Garrier reminds us of the growing popularity of service à la russe at the end of this period. With dinners comprising eight to ten different dishes, served in quick succession, matching wine to different types of food became normal practice, upsetting culinary traditions. Foie gras, previously served after roasted meat, became a starter to be enjoyed with a strong, sweet wine. This would be followed by fish and seafood, a type of dish better matched with light, dry and aromatic white wines such as Chablis or Meursault, served jeunes (young).

Henri Toulouse-Lautrec illustrates such a scene in this representation of his friends the Natansons, at whose home he often dined. They are shown here at the dinner table, in front of a dish of oysters and several glasses of white wine.  The jeunesse (young age) of the wine allowed for the use of a carafe. Red wines would not appear until the second half of the meal, alongside meats, poultry and game. Today, with the help of modern diktats on temperance, an increasing number of people believe that only one type of wine is needed for a dinner party.


Toulouse-Lautrec, a post-Impressionist, shared with the Nabis a colored-tint aesthetic. The audacity of his color mixes heralded the birth of Art Nouveau and Fauvism; Expressionism also made its mark  in the violent expressiveness of his work, borne of the artist’s personal dramas (he had been deformed by illness). The freedom of subject, tone and line in his work connect Toulouse-Lautrec to modern art. An independent artist, he distanced himself from the styles of the period. His acuity and sense of psychology allowed him to capture his models on the spot, unposed, regardless of their social position. The artist concentrates on the expressive force of the image, captured with quick and incisive strokes. (Source: Patricia Fride-Cassarat).


In 1889, along with some of his brothers, Thadée Natanson became co-founder and Director of the Revue Blanche. For fourteen years the revue was the mouthpiece of the cultural and artistic intelligentsia of the time. Natanson married Misia Godebska, a flamboyant and highly cultured woman (they were to divorce a few years later). The ‘Queen of Paris’ modelled for Renoir, Toulouse-Lautrec, Vuillard and Bonnard. The Natansons would regularly invite their artist and writer friends to dinner. Thadée Natanson was the author of a book on Toulouse-Lautrec. Here, the artist creates in a few strokes a work which is daring in its use of bright tones and colorful shading.

AFTER DINNER AT ORNANS (APRÈS-DÎNER A ORNANS)
Gustave Courbet, 1849 - Musée des Beaux-Arts, Lille, France / 1
LUNCHEON ON THE GRASS (DÉJEUNER SUR L'HERBE)
Edouard Manet, 1862/63 - Musée d'Orsay Paris / 2
LUNCHEON ON THE GRASS (DÉJEUNER SUR L'HERBE)
Claude Monet, 1865/66 - Musée d'Orsay, Paris / 3
HIPP HIPP HURRA !
Peder Severin Krøyer, 1888 - Fine Arts Museum, Göteborg, Sweden
LUNCHEON OF THE BOATING PARTY (LE DÉJEUNER DES CANOTIERS)
Auguste Renoir, 1881 - Mémorial Collection Phillips, Washington / 5
LUNCH AT THE RESTAURANT FOURNAISE (THE ROWERS' LUNCH)
Auguste Renoir, 1875 - Art Institute of Chicago
CHESS PLAYERS
Thomas Eakins, 1876 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 7
UNDER THE LAMP (SOUS LA LAMPE)
Marie Bracquemond, 1877 - Private collection / 8
THE PRIEST'S WINE (LE VIN DU CURÉ)
Jean-Louis-Ernest Meissonier, 1860 - MBA, Reims, France / 9

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

In the countryside of the 19th century and up until the 1950s, wine was most often drunk among men. In town, this was sometimes also the case. If, since Antiquity, wine was only drunk ‘in society’, wine also became linked to friendship. Although largely present, this theme had been neglected by painters. It was in the 19th century that this was finally illustrated, developed principally by Impressionist and pre- and post-Impressionist painters such as Manet, Monet, Renoir and Toulouse-Lautrec.

1. Courbet describes the scene of After Dinner at Ornans (L’après-dînée à Ornans): “It was the month of November, we were at the house of our friend Cuenot, Marlet had come back from hunting and we had engaged Promayet to play the violin for my father”. The painting is bathed in the weak light of an autumn afternoon, the dînée of the title being an afternoon, rather than an evening, meal. The light plays on the faces, tablecloth and back of the central seated figure, leaving the rest of the scene in shadow; one can hardly make out the imposing fireplace in the background. The colours are few and rather dark – blacks, browns and greys. The pale tablecloth and beige clothing of the hunter stand out all the more. The characters’ warm clothes and the presence of the hunting dog help us to identify this as a scene of autumn. Courbet realistically portrays the leftovers on the table and even a large wine stain on the cloth! He does not try to romanticise the scene, but represents it ‘as is’. His composition is built to convey depth and gives a perfect illusion of space. All these elements work together to evoke a real and recognisable scene. With After Dinner at Ornans, Courbet had a great success in the Salon of 1849, obtaining a gold medal! Delacroix did not hold back with his praise: “Have you ever seen the like, something as strong as this [...]? Here is an innovator, a revolutionary too; he has emerged all of a sudden and without precedent.” The State bought the painting and sent it to the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Lille. As for the small town of Ornans, it gave its son a hero’s welcome!” (Source: Françoise Besson, Panorama de l’art).

 

2. The 19th century saw the arrival of the English picnic in France. Thanks to the railway, the middle classes could lunch on the grass beside the Seine at Argenteuil. This country pleasure is used as a pretext for a well-known painting, Manet’s Déjeuner sur l’herbe. For the first time in the history of the official Paris Salon, 1863 saw artists whose work had been refused being allowed to exhibit them in a small room, annex to the main exhibition, allowing visitors to discover them – the famous Salon des Refusés. By exhibiting three controversial works here Edouard Manet became a figure of the avant-garde. Of his paintings, the central composition of Déjeuner sur l’herbe provoked the strongest reactions. In this work, Manet confirms his break with conventional Classicism. The polemic against him came less from the painting’s style than its subject: although the female nude was already widespread and appreciated (as long as the figure was represented modestly), the shock came from her representation alongside two fully-clothed men. Such a composition rules out the possibility of a mythological interpretation, meaning that the scene has strong sexual connotations. However, the Déjeuner sur l’herbe was actually inspired by a work by Raphael representing two nymphs, and Titian’s Pastoral Concert. The only difference between these paintings and Manet’s scene is in the clothing of the two men. In this way, Manet brings into perspective – and mocks – the tastes and taboos of his era. The wine – an empty bottle among the picnic leftovers – is a mere detail of the composition. But have we ever seen a picnic à la française without wine?

3. In his 1865-66 response to Déjeuner sur l’herbe, Claude Monet presents a friendly, middle-class leisure scene, featuring Camille Monet and the painters Gustave Courbet and Frédéric Bazille. They are shown eating and drinking on a picnic rug strewn with bottles. However, since the image is a demonstration of the Impressionist style, more emphasis is put on the effect of the light than on the subjects themselves.

5. In 1881, Auguste Renoir immortalised the river-view restaurant of Auguste Fournaise in Luncheon of the Boating Party (Déjeuner des canotiers). The collector Duncan Phillips said that this work “overflows with contagious good humour”. It oozes joie de vivre. The wine in this scene takes centre stage; placed in the centre of the table, it plays an essential role. It contributes to the creation of a happy and serene atmosphere among friends. The wine itself is probably local, from a local hillside. The following quotation, from Maupassant, speaks volumes about the poor reputation of Argenteuil wine at the time: “he compared himself to a man who would sample glass after glass of wine and then be unable to tell a chateau Margaux from an Argenteuil.” Manufactured with little care, strongly sweetened and produced from grapes of wildly varying qualities, Argenteuil wine was considered poor but cheap.

7. Meetings between friends could be more intimate, but even private encounters were subject to certain social niceties. These can be seen in the objects adorning the Victorian living room of the painter’s family in Philadelphia. Port, served in a carafe, was a fashionable late-afternoon drink (we can tell the time of day from the light) for these Chess Players. Thomas Eakins was a Realist painter who studied in France and is greatly appreciated in the USA.

 

8. Marie and Félix Bracquemond were friends of Manet and Degas, as well as Alfred and Eugénie Sisley, their neighbours at Sèvres, who have come to their home for dinner.

 

9. Some years earlier, in 1860, Jean-Louis-Ernest Meissonnier portrayed the modest home of a rural priest in The Priest's Wine (Le Vin du Curé). The white tablecloth covers a folding table, on which we can see the leftovers of a frugal lunch where wine was probably the main attraction. The wine is probably the same as that described in the above Renoir painting: a red wine from the banks of the Seine, produced by one of those vineyards “more smoke than grapes” near Poissy, where Meissonnier lived. But at the end of lunch, with fruit, the wine seems better. Glass in hand, the priest describes it his guest in great detail; the latter does not answer, but smiles and listens politely, his right arm resting on the table and hand on leg. Once again, wine allows for relaxation. “After an hour, during a gay tête-à-tête, glass in hand as well as eight prélats, [they] thanked God for a hearty meal.” (Illustration for Les contes rémois, 3rd edition, 1858: Le Bon docteur) The priest’s white wine was reserved for the Mass and donated by parishioners. The wine in this case is a wine of quality, from Chanteloup-les-Vignes – also close to Poissy – and one of those wines which, according to a well-known author, could be compared to the “best tisanes of Champagne”. In layman’s terms, this means that it was a very light wine (Dion). Although the Catholic Church has chosen white wine, this is not the case in the Orthodox and Anglican Church, where red wine is traditional. In Protestant communities, all wines are acceptable, including aperitif wines. In England, a rich church in central London is said to use champagne for its Christmas Eve mass. In Belgravia, perhaps?

AFTER LUNCH AT FIESOLE
Baccio Maria Bacci, 1926/29 - Uffizzy Galleries, Florence, Italy / 1
GRAND PRIX EVENING AT ARMENONVILLE (ARMENONVILLE, LE SOIR DU GRAND PRIX) Henri Gervex, 1905 - Musée Carnavalet, Paris / 2
THE LAFAYETTE
John Sloane, 1927 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 3

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

1. After the rise of Cubism and Expressionism, realist and genre painters came back into fashion during the “return to normal” of the inter-war period. If 20th-century painters had shown little interest in wine as a social lubricant, these movements touched once more on the world of wine. In Italy, these older movements competed with Futurism. Baccio Maria Bacci, a figurative painter, shows us the end of a lunch in Fiesole, an ancient Tuscan town near Florence. The scene appears to take place during a heatwave, so the characters do not rush. A dreamy, nonchalant atmosphere dominates. One of the guests plucks a few notes on his guitar; we can tell that he is a guest from the table-setting and the dog sitting at his master’s feet. Among the remnants of the meal is a carafe of rosé, probably a type of Vin Santo, a sweet dessert wine traditional in Tuscany, which is supposed to promote meditative thought. Doubtless homemade, the wine is Occhio di pernice (pheasant’s eye), accompanied by almond ricciarelli. Even better shared with friends!

2. The Longchamp Grand-Prix was a high point of the summer social season and the closing supper at the Armenonville Pavillion (in the Bois de Boulogne) brought together many people, celebrities and friends.

3. Friends can also meet to share food and fine wines in a restaurant. Thus the excitement of ‘going out’ adds itself to the pleasures of eating and being together. John Sloane did this regularly with ‘bohemian’ writer and artist friends, who lived in the Greenwich Village. They enjoyed spending time at the ‘Lafayette’, known for two famous starters but also for its excellent food and wine. The restaurant was demolished in 1953 to make room for a hotel of the same name. Incidentally, New York taxis were already yellow at this time! Sloane’s style brings Dufy to mind. If restaurant businesses have existed in all walks of life throughout history, the first ‘modern’ restaurant (that of the famous chef François-Auguste de Pontac, son of Arnaud III de Pontac, world-renowned artisan of Haut-Brion) only appeared in England in 1666. France’s first restaurant did not open its doors until a century later, despite the country’s solid international reputation for gastronomy. The opening in 1765 of a restaurant near the Louvre, where a certain ‘Boulanger’ served meat consommés and other sophisticated dishes usually reserved for private tables, opened the way for a new profession to challenge the monopoly of private caterers.

GALLERIES SOCIAL LIFE AND LIFE IN SOCIETY

With Friends
Cabarets & Ballrooms
Seduction and Love
Celebrations & Social Life
Political Life
En voir plus
  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

08.07.2019

Le vin accompagne le plaisir d'être entre amis

"Dîner chez Monsieur et Madame Natanson", Toulouse-Lautrec, 1898 - Collection particulière | Entre amis | Vie sociale | De boire en savoir-boire | Vin et Peinture | MVV Le Musée Virtuel du Vin

 

DÎNER CHEZ MONSIEUR ET MADAME NATANSON

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (1864-1901) 

1898

Collection particulière

 

 

Au XIXème siècle, associer les bons vins à la bonne chère devient une manière de faire honneur à ses amis. Gilbert Garrier nous rappelle dans son "Histoire sociale et culturelle du vin" (Larousse) que lorsque se généralisera à la fin du siècle le "service à la russe" et que succèdent huit à dix plats apportés l’un après l’autre, il devient plus naturel d’accorder mets et vins, quitte à bousculer les usages qui avaient prévalu jusque-là. Le foie gras qui succédait jusqu’alors aux rôtis, est servi en premier avec un vin puissant et doux. Suivent les crustacés et des poissons qui s’accordent mieux avec des vins blancs plus légers, plus secs et plus aromatiques comme le Chablis et le Meursault, étant servis assez jeunes. 

C’est ce qu’illustre Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec en nous montrant ses amis Natanson, chez qui il venait souvent dîner, à table devant un plat d’huîtres et des verres de vin blanc. La jeunesse du vin permet sans difficulté l’usage de la carafe. Les vins rouges ne paraîtront que pour la seconde partie du repas, sur les viandes, les volailles et le gibier. Aujourd’hui, les nouveaux impératifs de tempérance aidant, de plus en plus nombreux sont ceux qui considèrent qu’un seul grand vin peut se suffire à lui-même.

Toulouse-Lautrec, post-impressionniste, partage avec les Nabis l’esthétique des aplats colorés. Il annonce l’Art Nouveau et les fauves par l’audace de ses coloris, et les expressionnistes par sa violence d’’expression née de son drame personnel (la maladie l’a rendu difforme). La liberté du sujet, du ton et de la ligne annoncent l’art moderne. Artiste indépendant, il s’éloigne des styles de son époque. Son acuité et son sens de la psychologie lui permettent de saisir ses modèles sur le vif, dans l’immédiateté de leur être, quel que soit leur milieu social. L’artiste se concentre sur la force expressive du dessin, au trait aigu et rapide (source : Patricia Fride-Cassarat).

 

Thaddée Natanson a été en 1889 le co-fondateur avec des frères de la « Revue blanche » dont il était le directeur-gérant. La revue fut pendant quatorze ans le porte-parole de l’intelligentsia culturelle et artistique de l’époque. Il épousa Misia Godebska, femme flamboyante de grande culture (dont il divorça quelques années plus tard). La « Reine de Paris » fut le modèle de Renoir, Toulouse-Lautrec, Vuillard et Bonnard. Les Natanson invitaient régulièrement leurs amis écrivains et artistes à dîner. Thaddée Natanson fut l’auteur d’un livre sur Toulouse-Lautrec. Celui-ci crée ici en quelques traits une œuvre pleine d’audace dans les accords de tons vifs et d’ombres colorées.

APRES-DÎNÉE À ORNANS
Courbet, 1849 - Musée des Beaux-Arts, Lille / 1
DÉJEUNER SUR L'HERBE
Edouard Manet, 1862-1863 - Musée d'Orsay Paris / 2
DÉJEUNER SUR L'HERBE
Claude Monet, 1865-1866 - Musée d'Orsay, Paris / 3
HIPP HIPP HURRA !
Peder Severin Krøyer, 1888 - Musée des beaux-arts de Göteborg
LE DÉJEUNER DES CANOTIERS
Auguste Renoir, 1881 - Mémorial Collection Phillips, Washington / 5
LES CANOTIERS
Auguste Renoir, 1890 - Art Institute of Chicago
LES JOUEURS D’ÉCHECS
Thomas Eakins, 1876 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 7
SOUS LA LAMPE
Marie Bracquemond, 1877 - Collection particulière / 8
LE VIN DU CURÉ
Jean-Louis-Ernest Meissonier, 1860 - MBA, Reims / 9

> Découvrez les œuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

Dans les campagnes du XIXe siècle et jusqu’en 1950, le vin se boit le plus souvent entre hommes. En ville, il en va parfois de même. Si depuis l’Antiquité on ne goûte bien le vin qu’en société, le vin devient alors le vin de l’amitié. Bien que largement présent, ce thème n’aura été que peu abordé par les peintres. C’est avec le XIXe siècle qu’il est illustré, développé principalement par les peintres du courant impressionniste, du pré-impressionnisme au postimpressionnisme : Manet, Monet, Renoir et Toulouse-Lautrec.

1/ Courbet décrit la scène de L’après-dînée à Ornans : « c’était au mois de novembre, nous étions chez notre ami Cuenot, Marlet revenait de la chasse et nous avions engagé Promayet à jouer du violon devant mon père ». Le tableau baigne dans une faible lumière qui est celle d’un après-midi d’automne, la dînée qu’évoque le titre du tableau étant à cette époque le repas de midi et non celui du soir. Elle éclaire les visages, la nappe et le personnage de dos, laissant le reste de la pièce dans la pénombre ; on devine à peine une imposante cheminée à l’arrière-plan. Les couleurs sont peu nombreuses et plutôt sombres, des noirs profonds, des bruns et des gris. Les taches claires que constituent la nappe blanche et le vêtement beige du chasseur ressortent d’autant plus. Les habits chauds des personnages et la présence du chien de chasse contribuent à situer la scène en automne. Courbet représente aussi avec réalisme les restes du repas sur la table et même une grosse tache de vin sur la nappe ! Il ne cherche pas à enjoliver la scène, mais à la représenter dans toute sa réalité. Enfin, sa composition est construite en profondeur et donne parfaitement l’illusion de l’espace. Tous ces éléments contribuent à évoquer avec force un monde réel et familier. Avec L’Après-dînée, Courbet obtient un grand succès au Salon de 1849, et même une médaille d’or ! Delacroix ne tarit pas d’éloges : « Avez-vous vu rien de pareil, ni d’aussi fort […] ? Voilà un novateur, un révolutionnaire aussi, il éclot tout à coup sans précédent. » L’État achète le tableau et l’envoie au palais des Beaux-Arts de Lille. Quant à la petite ville d’Ornans, elle réserve un accueil triomphal à l’enfant du pays ! (source : Françoise Besson, Panorama de l’art).

 

2/ Le XIXème siècle voit apparaître en France le pique-nique à l’anglaise.  Avec le chemin de fer, la petite bourgeoisie part déjeuner sur l’herbe au bord de la Seine à Argenteuil. Ce plaisir champêtre sert de prétexte à un tableau qui a beaucoup fait parler de lui, le Déjeuner sur l’herbe de Manet. Pour la première fois dans l’histoire du Salon officiel et annuel de Paris, on permet en 1863 aux artistes refusés d’exposer leurs œuvres dans une petite salle annexe à l’exposition principale, où les visiteurs peuvent les découvrir : c’est le fameux Salon des Refusés. Édouard Manet, en y exposant trois œuvres controversées, s’impose comme une figure de l’avant-garde. Parmi elles, la composition centrale de son Déjeuner sur l’herbe suscite les réactions les plus vives. Dans cette œuvre, Manet y confirme sa rupture avec le classicisme et l’académisme. Mais la polémique vient moins du style de la toile que de son sujet : si le nu féminin est déjà répandu et apprécié, à condition d’être traité de façon pudique et éthérée, il est encore plus choquant de faire figurer dans la même composition deux hommes tout habillés. Une telle mise en scène exclut en effet la possibilité d’une interprétation mythologique et donne au tableau une forte connotation sexuelle. Le Déjeuner sur l’herbe ne fait pourtant que s’inspirer d’une œuvre de Raphaël représentant deux nymphes, et du Concert champêtre du Titien, la seule différence avec ces deux peintures étant les vêtements des deux hommes. Manet, de cette manière, relativise et ridiculise les goûts et les interdits de son époque. Le vin sous la forme d’une bouteille vide parmi les restes d’un pique-nique n’est là que pour la mise en scène. Mais a-t-on déjà vu un pique-nique à la française sans vin ?

3/ Dans la réplique à ce tableau, Claude Monet en 1865-1866 dans Déjeuner sur l’herbe  met en scène une récréation bourgeoise et amicale avec Camille Monet et les peintres Gustave Courbet  et Frédéric Bazille. Ils boivent et mangent sur une simple nappe étendue et lestée de bouteilles. Mais puisqu'il s'agit d'une démonstration du nouveau style impressionniste, l'accent est mis plus sur les effets de lumière que sur le sujet comme tel.

5/ Auguste Renoir immortalise en 1881 le restaurant d’Auguste Fournaise  et sa terrasse sur l’eau avec le Déjeuner des canotiers. Le collectionneur Duncan Phillips dira de cette œuvre : « elle est débordante d’une bonne humeur contagieuse ». Elle respire la joie de vivre. Le vin est comme mis en scène, il est situé à l’épicentre du tableau et joue ici un rôle actif essentiel. Il contribue à créer une ambiance heureuse et sereine parmi tous ces amis. Il s’agit très probablement du vin des coteaux voisins. On peut juger de sa réputation à cette époque dans cette citation de Maupassant : « Il se comparaît lui-même à un homme qui goûterait coup sur coup, les échantillons de tous les vins et ne distinguerait bientôt plus le château Margaux de l’Argenteuil ». Vinifié sans grand soin, fortement chaptalisé et produit à partir des cépages à fort rendement les plus divers, le vin d’Argenteuil n’était pas bien fameux, mais économique.

7/ Les rencontres entre amis peuvent être plus intimes. Cela n'empêche nullement le respect des usages du monde à Philadelphie dans ce petit salon victorien de la maison familiale du peintre : le porto, bien sûr servi en carafe, est la boisson de rigueur de cette fin d'après-midi (comme le suggère la lumière) pour ces Joueurs d'échecs. Thomas Eakins est un peintre réaliste qui a fait ses classes en France et qui est très apprécié aux Etats-Unis.

 

8/ Marie et Félix Bracquemond était amis avec Manet, Degas, ainsi qu'avec Alfred et Eugénie Sisley, qui étaient leurs voisins à Sèvres et qui viennent dîner chez eux.

 

9/ Dans Le Vin du curé, Jean-Louis-Ernest Meissonnier nous dépeint quelques années auparavant, en 1860, l'intérieur modeste d’un curé de campagne. La nappe toute blanche couvre une table pliante sur laquelle reposent les restes d'un déjeuner frugal dont le vin a été le principal attrait. C’est probablement un vin du même type que celui décrit pour le tableau précédent de Renoir : un vin rouge des rives de la Seine (a), d’un de ces vignobles « plus fumés que de raison », près de Poissy, où habitait Meissonnier. Mais à la fin du déjeuner et avec les fruits, le vin paraît meilleur. Le verre à la main, le bon curé en détaille tout le mérite à son invité. Celui-ci ne discute pas, sourit et l’écoute amicalement avec complaisance, le bras droit appuyé sur la table et la main sur la jambe. Là encore, le vin est celui de la décontraction et de la détente. « Une heure après, dans un gai tête-à-tête, le verre en main ainsi que huit prélats (ils) rendaient  grâce à Dieu d’un bon repas » (Illustration pour Les contes rémois. 3e édition. 1858. Le Bon docteur). Le vin blanc dont disposait le curé était réservé pour la messe et offert à cet effet par des fidèles, en l’occurrence un vin de qualité, de Chanteloup-les-Vignes, également près de Poissy, un de ces vins qui eux, selon un bon auteur, pouvaient être comparés aux meilleures « tisanes de Champagne », c’est-à-dire, en langue de métier, aux plus légers de ses vins (Dion). Si l'Eglise catholique a choisi le vin blanc, ce n'est pas le cas des églises orthodoxes et de l'Eglise d'Angleterre, où le vin rouge est considéré comme celui de la tradition. Dans les communautés protestantes, tous les vins sont admis, y compris les vins d'apéritif. En Angleterre, on raconte qu'une église riche du centre de Londres utilise le champagne comme vin de messe la nuit de Noël. A Belgravia peut-être ?

APRES-MIDI A FIESOLE
Baccio Maria Bacci, 1926-1929 - Galerie des Offices, Florence / 1
ARMENONVILLE, LE SOIR DU GRAND PRIX
Henri Gervex, 1905 - Musée Carnavalet, Paris / 2
THE LAFAYETTE
John Sloane, 1927 - Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 3

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

1/ Si au XXème siècle, les peintres s’intéressent peu au vin comme catalyseur de l’amitié, après le cubisme et l’expressionnisme, la peinture de genre et le courant réaliste redeviennent d’actualité pendant l’entre deux-guerres avec le « retour à l’ordre ». Il permet quelques incursions dans le monde du vin. En Italie, il était en concurrence avec le futurisme. Baccio Maria Bacci, peintre figuratif, nous fait vivre les suites d’un déjeuner à Fiesole, petite ville toscane ancienne surplombant Florence. Il y a dehors comme une brume de chaleur et il n’y a aucune raison de s’y précipiter. Il règne une douce nonchalance et l’atmosphère est à la rêverie. L’un des convives se met à égrener des notes sur sa guitare ; le plan de table et le chien assis aux pieds de son maître laissent deviner qu’il s’agit d’un invité. Parmi les reliefs du repas, il y a une carafe de rosé, probablement une variété de Vin Santo, un vin doux de dessert, traditionnel en Toscane, qui pour les italiens invite à la méditation. Sans doute produit sur place, il s’agirait d’Occhio di pernice (œil de perdrix) accompagné de « ricciarelli » aux amandes. Partagé avec des amis, il est encore meilleur !

2/ Le Grand-Prix de Longchamp était un moment fort de la saison mondaine et le dîner de clôture au pavillon d'Armenonville (au Bois de Boulogne) rassemblait de nombreuses personnalités et amis. 

3/ Se retrouver entre amis et partager mets et vins fins peut aussi avoir lieu au restaurant de façon plus simple. Aux plaisirs de la table et d'être ensemble s'ajoute alors celui de "sortir". C'est ce que faisait régulièrement John Sloane et ses amis écrivais et artistes de la "bohême" qui vivaient à Greenwich Village. Ils appréciaient de passer un bon moment au "Lafayette", car s'il était bien connu pour ses deux entrées, il l'était également et largement pour son excellente cuisine française et ses vins (b). Il fut détruit en 1953 pour laisser la place à un nouvel hôtel du même nom. Un détail : les taxis new-yorkais de l'époque étaient déjà jaunes ! Le style de Sloane nous fait penser ici à Dufy. Si les commerces de restauration sont attestés à toutes les époques et en tous lieux, ce n'est qu'en 1666 qu'apparaît le premier restaurant moderne, en Angleterre (celui du fameux chef François-Auguste de Pontac, fils d'Arnaud III de Pontac, l'artisan de la renommée internationale du Haut-Brion) et cent ans plus tard en France, alors que ce pays avait déjà acquis à l'étranger une solide réputation en matière de gastronomie. L’ouverture près du Louvre en 1765 d’un restaurant où un nommé Boulanger sert des consommés à base de viande et autres plats raffinés habituellement préparés par des traiteurs sur de petites tables ouvre la voie à l’émergence d’une nouvelle profession qui vient concurrencer le monopole de la corporation des traiteurs.

LE VIN COMPAGNON DE LA VIE SOCIALE, LES GALERIES

LE VIN COMPAGNON DE LA VIE SOCIALE, LES GALERIES

Entre amis
Cabarets, guinguettes et bals
Amour et séduction
Fêtes et vie en société
Vin et politique
En voir plus