Drunken Noah is discovered naked by his sons

Drunkenness of Noah, Giovanni Bellini, ca.1515 - Musée des Beaux-Arts, Besançon, France |  Drunkenness of Noah | Bloof of the Grapes | Old Testament, Bible | From Divine to Sacred | Wine and Painting | The Virtual Wine Museum

DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH (after restoration)

Giovanni Bellini (before ca. 1426-1516)  
ca. 1515
Musée des Beaux-Arts, Besançon, France

 

 

An old man sleeps naked. A cup and a bunch of grapes are presented in the foreground. A vine is in the background. As these three elements represent wine, it is likely that this man is drunk. The sleeping man is Noah. He is surrounded by his three sons, Ham in the middle and Shem and Japhet on either side. Shem and Japhet are good sons who show respect for their father by looking away as they cover his nakedness. Ham, meanwhile, mocks Noah – an act that causes him and his descendants, the Canaanites, to be cursed (see Bible text below).

Old Testament themes often prefigure those of the New Testament. Ham’s mockery of his father may make us think of the Roman soldiers’ humiliation of Christ. But this episode also marks the invention of wine – which, with bread, was to become a central part of the Eucharist.


A few years earlier (1508-1509), Michelangelo used this same scene to illustrate the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel in Rome.  Bellini’s representation of the scene differs from that of Michelangelo, however: it seems profane and naturalistic compared to the antique style of the Vatican fresco. This episode – the first Bible story to mention wine – had been relatively neglected by artists, but was pulled out of obscurity after the start of the 16th century.

NOAH'S SACRIFICE AND NOAH'S DRUNKENNESS, Paolo Uccello
1447-1448 - Green Cloister, Santa Maria Novella, Florence, Italy
THE VINTAGE AND DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Benozzo Gozzoli, 1469-1484 - Camposanto, Pisa, Italy
DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Michelangelo, 1509 - Cappella Sistina, Vatican
THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Moretto da Brescia, 1530s - Private collection
DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Carlo Saraceni, ca. 1600-1610 ? - Private collection
NOAH'S DRUNKENNESS
James Jacques Joseph Tissot, ca.1896-1902 - Jewish Museum, New York

> Click on the icons for a closer look at the artworks

Old Testament, Genesis 9:20-25

"And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard: And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent. And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without. And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father's nakedness. And Noah awoke from his wine, and knew what his younger son had done unto him. And he said, Cursed be Canaan; a servant of servants shall he be unto his brethren."

 
The inventor of wine discovers the drawbacks of excess. For Christians, it would take the coming of Christ to erase the shame of the drunkenness of mankind’s first patriarch.

The Grapes of Canaan
The Murder of Amnon
The Drunkenness of Noah
Lot and his Daughters
Belshazzar's Feast
The Song of Songs
En voir plus

>  Wine and Painting  >  From Divine to Sacred  >  The Blood of the Grapes in the Old Testament  >  Drunkenness of Noah

  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

10.04.2019

L'ivresse de Noé lui fit découvrir sa nudité devant ses fils

"L'Ivresse de Noé" (après restauration, vue partielle), Giovanni Bellini, c. 1515 - Musée des Beaux-arts, Besançon | Sang de la vigne, Ancien Testament, Bible | De vin divin en vin Sacré | Vin et peinture | MVV Le Musée Virtuel du Vin

 L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ (après restauration, vue partielle)   
Giovanni Bellini (entre 1425 et 1433 -1516)  
c. 1515
Musée des Beaux-Arts, Besançon

 

 

Un vieil homme dort nu. Une coupe et une grappe de raisin sont disposées au premier plan. Une vigne constitue l'arrière-plan. Ces trois éléments évoquent le vin. Il semble donc que cet homme soit ivre. L'homme allongé est Noé. Il est entouré de ses trois fils, Cham au centre et Sem et Japhet sur les côtés. Sem et Japhet sont les bons fils, ils respectent leurs pères en dissimulant sa nudité tout en détournant les yeux. À l'inverse Cham se moque de son père ce qui lui vaudra d'être maudit ainsi que ses descendants le peuple de Cananéens (cf. texte biblique ci-dessous).

Les thèmes de l'Ancien Testament sont souvent utilisés comme des préfigurations du Nouveau Testament. Les moqueries de Cham évoquent les différentes railleries et outrages des soldats romains envers le Christ. Mais cet épisode est aussi l'invention du vin, élément central de l’eucharistie avec le pain.

 

La même scène fut illustrée par Michel-Ange peu d'années auparavant (1508-1509) à Rome sur la voûte de la chapelle Sixtine. Mais la représentation de Bellini diffère de celle de Michel-Ange : elle semble ici profane et naturaliste contrairement au caractère antiquisant de la fresque du Vatican. Ce premier épisode de la Bible consacré au vin a été relativement peu traité par les artistes. Il ne l'a plus été après le début du XVIe siècle.

LE SACRIFICE ET L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ
Paolo Uccello, 1447-1448 - Santa Maria Novella, Florence
LES VENDANGES ET L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ
Benozzo Gozzoli, 1469-1484 - Camposanto, Pise
L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ
Michel-Ange, GM, 1509 - Chapelle Sixtine, Vatican
IVRESSE DE NOÉ
Moretto da Brescia, 1530 - Collection particulière
L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ
Carlo Saraceni, c. 1600-1610 ? - Collection particulière
L'IVRESSE DE NOÉ
James Jacques Joseph Tissot, c.1896-c.1902 - Jewish Museum, New York

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

Texte biblique : Ancien Testament, Le Pentateuque, Genèse IX, 20-25

L'ivresse de Noé lui fit découvrir sa nudité devant ses fils : "Noé commença à cultiver la terre, et planta de la vigne. Il but du vin, s'enivra, et se découvrit au milieu de sa tente. Cham, père de Canaan, vit la nudité de son père, et il le rapporta dehors à ses deux frères. Alors Sem et Japhet prirent le manteau, le mirent sur leurs épaules, marchèrent à reculons, et couvrirent la nudité de leur père; comme leur visage était détourné, ils ne virent point la nudité de leur père. Lorsque Noé se réveilla de son vin, il apprit ce que lui avait fait son fils cadet. Et il dit: Maudit soit Canaan! qu'il soit l'esclave des esclaves de ses frères ! "
 
L'inventeur du vin apprend à ses dépends les méfaits du vin lorsqu'il est bu avec excès. Pour les chrétiens, il faudra la venue du Christ pour effacer l'ivresse du" premier patriarche de l'humanité".

Grappe de Canaan
Meurtre d'Amnon
Ivresse de Noé
Loth et ses filles
Festin de Balthazar
Cantique des cantiques
En voir plus

>  Vin et peinture  >  De vin divin en vin Sacré  >  Sang de la vigne dans l'Ancien Testament  >  Ivresse de Noé