RED VINEYARDS AT ARLES (LA VIGNE ROUGE)

Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)  

1888

Oil on canvas, 75 x 93 cm

Pushkin Museum, Moscow, Russia

 

 

 

Van Gogh painted two landscapes featuring vines in oils – The Green Vine and The Red Vine – during his period in Arles, where he lived from 20th February 1888, followed by Vines with View of Auvers when he was receiving treatment from Doctor Gachet from late May 1890. Van Gogh also painted a watercolour landscape entitled Old Vineyard and Peasant Woman. The Red Vine is one of the artist’s best-known paintings, and often said to be the only one sold in his lifetime – in February 1890, five months before his suicide. But let’s be more precise: it was “one of few paintings to be sold in his lifetime.” ((Ingo F. Walther).


The call of the South: Van Gogh went to the region in search of light and colour. He produced a harvest scene in late October, near Arles, depicting red vines. This is decidedly odd: although Arles is in a Mediterranean region, a late-October harvest is still terribly late. Usually, the grape harvest takes place before the vines turn red. There is a plethora of grape-pickers – twenty-one! Night has almost fallen. What to make of this harvest scene? Could it have really taken place as Van Gogh depicts it, so late in the year?


Let’s examine the evidence in Van Gogh’s Letters*. In a letter sent to his brother Théo, dated 3rd October, the artist reports having just finished The Green Vine: “Ah! My vine study, I sweated water and blood over it, but it’s done… The vines I’ve painted are green, purple and yellow with violet grapes and black and orange shoots. On the horizon, some blue-grey willows and the press much further away, its red roof and the lilac silhouette of the town in the distance. Amidst the vines, the figures of women with red parasols and other harvest workers with their cart.” The scene is described in great detail. The harvest seems to have got off to a good start, although the pace is slow. All is going to plan. 10th (or 11th) October: “If only you could see the vines! Bunches weighing a whole kilo – the grapes are magnificent this year.” If the start of the summer had been particularly rainy, from September the weather was glorious. The grapes were abundant, and ripe for the picking by early October.
 

Gauguin joined Van Gogh in the South at the end of October. In another letter to Theo, dated 3rd November, Van Gogh recounts a walk to Montmajour and Trébon, several kilometers from Arles and not far from the Fontevielle windmill, which he had taken with Gauguin the weekend before, the 28th October, at sunset: “We saw a red vineyard, completely red like red wine. In the distance it became yellow, and then a green sky with a sun, fields violet and sparkling yellow here and there after the rain in which the setting sun was reflected." The result of this colorful walk? In his letters, Van Gogh is Gauguin’s record-keeper. On the 3rd November, he relates: “At the moment he’s working on some women in a vineyard, entirely from memory, but if he doesn’t spoil it or leave it there unfinished it will be very fine and very strange”. On the 10th November, he announces that “Gauguin has finished his canvas of the women picking grapes”. If Gauguin’s memory of the vineyard’s colours was spot-on, other details are less exact: the women in his painting are wearing headdresses from Brittany! Sardonically, Van Gogh adds: “I haven’t seen the Breton things...” 

THE GREEN VINEYARD (LA VIGNE VERTE)

Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)  

1888

Oil on canvas, 73,5 x 92,5 cm

Kröller-Müller Museum, Otterlo, The Netherlands

“Ah! My vine study, I sweated water and blood over it, but it’s done… The vines I’ve painted are green, purple and yellow with violet grapes and black and orange shoots. On the horizon, some blue-grey willows and the press much further away, its red roof and the lilac silhouette of the town in the distance. Amidst the vines, the figures of women with red parasols and other harvest workers with their cart.” The scene is described in great detail. The harvest seems to have got off to a good start, although the pace is slow. All is going to plan. 10th (or 11th) October: “If only you could see the vines! Bunches weighing a whole kilo – the grapes are magnificent this year.” If the start of the summer had been particularly rainy, from September the weather was glorious. The grapes were abundant, and ripe for the picking by early October.
 

Gauguin joined Van Gogh in the South at the end of October. In another letter to Theo, dated 3rd November, Van Gogh recounts a walk to Montmajour and Trébon, several kilometers from Arles and not far from the Fontevielle windmill, which he had taken with Gauguin the weekend before, the 28th October, at sunset: “We saw a red vineyard, completely red like red wine. In the distance it became yellow, and then a green sky with a sun, fields violet and sparkling yellow here and there after the rain in which the setting sun was reflected." The result of this colorful walk? In his letters, Van Gogh is Gauguin’s record-keeper. On the 3rd November, he relates: “At the moment he’s working on some women in a vineyard, entirely from memory, but if he doesn’t spoil it or leave it there unfinished it will be very fine and very strange”. On the 10th November, he announces that “Gauguin has finished his canvas of the women picking grapes”. If Gauguin’s memory of the vineyard’s colors was spot-on, other details are less exact: the women in his painting are wearing headdresses from Brittany! Sardonically, Van Gogh adds: “I haven’t seen the Breton things...”

VENDANGES A ARLES (MISÈRES HUMAINES), Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), 1888 - Ordrupgaard, Copenhague

GRAPE HARVEST AT ARLES (HUMAN ANGUISH)

Paul Gauguin (1848-1903)

1888

Oil on canvas, 73,5 x 92 cm

Ordrupgaard, Copenhagen, Norway

 

On 3rd November, just after describing Gaugin’s “some women in a vineyard”: Van Gogh wrote "I am now working on a vineyard, all purple and yellow". On 10th November, after having indicated that "Gauguin has finished his canvas of the women picking grapes", he continues: “I myself have also finished a canvas of a vineyard, all purple and yellow with little blue and violet figures and a yellow sun.” That’s all: there’s no question of it being harvest time and we’re far from the luxuriant details describing the completion of his The Green Vineyard. The landscape is infested with harvest workers heretofore unmentioned. In the same letter, he adds shortly after: “I’m going to set myself to work often from memory, and the canvases done from memory are always less awkward and have a more artistic look than the studies from nature, especially when I’m working in mistral conditions”. A few paragraphs earlier, he tells his brother “I don’t find it disagreeable to try to work from the imagination, since that permits me not to go out… the cold isn’t for me, as you know.” But it’s under Gauguin’s influence that Van Gogh decides to make space in his art for both memory and imagination (he confirms this in a letter to Théo dated 11th or 12th November: “Gauguin gives me courage to imagine, and the things of the imagination do indeed take on a more mysterious character”; and to his sister Willemien in a letter of 12th November, when he’d just completed his Red Vineyard: “he encourages me a lot often to work purely from the imagination”).

 

In reality, the harvest in Provence had taken place long before the execution of the painting, on the 20th September. There would have been no one in the bare vineyard at the time of painting. The two artists worked from memory and if they were accurate in their representation of the bright reds and yellows of the autumnal vine leaves (typical of the vineyards in late October, after the harvest) they let their imaginations run wild for the rest. Van Gogh liked contrasts of audacious colours. In a letter to Théo dated 3rd October (already mentionned): “when all the foliage of the trees is yellow, it will be something marvelous, against the blue. Ziem has shown us these glories many times already.” The subject of the painting is depicted here with a mise en scene rich in colours chosen by Van Gogh purely for effect. With its new approach to colour, this splendid composition marked the beginning of fauvism. 

These compositions clearly demonstrate that the painters wished to show their experience of the vineyard, rather than the vineyard itself. 

 

 

* Van Gogh kept close epistolary ties with his family, especially his brother Théo (652 of over 900 letters total). These letters give a very precise and detailed account of the conditions in which the artist produced his work.

** In one of his letters to his mother, in July 1889, Van Gogh told her that he remembered a painting that he’d sent to Théo, “where a vineyard is all purple, crimson and yellow and green and violet like the Virginia creeper in Holland.”

A FEW MORE EXHIBITED VAN GOGH'S PAINTINGS

Mill of Alphonse Daudet at Fontvieille
Stairway at Auvers
Interior of the Restaurant Carrel at Arles
Night Cafe
The Drinkers

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

©  2020  Le Musée Virtuel du Vin - The Virtual Wine Museum

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation

LA VIGNE ROUGE

Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)  

1888

Huile sur toile, 75 x 93 cm

Musée des beaux-arts Pouchkine, Moscou

 

 

 

Van Gogh peignit à l'huile trois paysages de vignes : La Vigne verte et La Vigne rouge en Arles où il séjournera à partir du 20 février 1888, Vignes avec vue d’Auvers quand ensuite il est allé fin mai 1890 se faire soigner par le Docteur Gachet. Il y a également peint, à l'aquarelle, de Vieilles vignes et une paysanneLa Vigne rouge est l’une de ses toiles les plus connues, dont on a souvent prétendu et colporté que c’était la seule qu’il avait vendue de son vivant, en février 1890, cinq mois avant son suicide. Soyons plus précis : « l’une des rares toiles qu’il a pu vendre de son vivant » (Ingo F. Walther).

 

L’appel du sud : Van Gogh était allé chercher dans le Midi plus de lumière, plus de couleur. Il nous propose une vendange fin octobre près d’Arles alors que la vigne est rouge. Tout cela est bien curieux : bien que située dans une région méditerranéenne, cette vendange serait bien tardive, fin octobre. Habituellement, les vendanges ont lieu avant que la vigne ne prenne cette couleur. Il y a pléthore de vendangeurs, vingt et un ! Il va bientôt faire nuit. Que penser de la réalité de cette vendange ? A-t-elle vraiment eu lieu comme le présente Van Gogh, a-t-elle-même vraiment eu lieu à cette date ?

 

Analysons les faits en nous appuyant sur les Lettres de Van Gogh*. Dans l’une de celles envoyées à son frère Théo, il lui annonce, en date du 3 octobre, qu’il vient de terminer sa Vigne verte : « Ah ! Mon étude des vignes, j’ai sué sang et eau dessus, mais je l’ai… Les vignes que je viens de peindre sont vertes, pourpres, jaunes à grappes violettes, à sarments noirs et orangés. À l’horizon, quelques saules gris bleu et le pressoir bien, bien loin, à toit rouge et silhouette de ville lilas lointaine. Dans la vigne des figurines de dames à ombrelles rouges et d’autres figurines d’ouvriers vendangeurs avec leur charrette ». La scène est décrite minutieusement. Visiblement, la vendange a bien démarré, même si c’est encore à petite vitesse. La vendange se poursuit au mieux de sa forme. Le 10 (ou 11) octobre : « Si tu voyais les vignes ! Il y a des grappes d’un kilo même -  le raisin est magnifique cette année ». Si le début de l’été avait été particulièrement maussade, il faisait un temps radieux depuis septembre. Le raisin avait été abondant, avec une bonne maturité début octobre.

 

Gauguin le rejoint dans le Midi fin octobre. Dans une lettre, toujours à Théo, et datée cette fois-ci du 3 novembre, Van Gogh lui relate la promenade qu’il a faite avec Gauguin – à Montmajour, au Trébon, à quelques kilomètres d’Arles et non loin du moulin de Fontvieille - le dimanche précédent, le 28 octobre, alors que le soleil se couchait : « Nous avons vu une vigne rouge, toute rouge comme du vin rouge. Dans le lointain elle devenait jaune, et puis un ciel vert avec un soleil, des terrains, après la pluie, violets et scintillant jaune par-ci par-là où se reflétait le ciel couchant »**. Qu’en est-il des suites de cette promenade ? Pour Gauguin, Van Gogh est encore une fois notre chroniqueur. Le 3 novembre : « Il a en train des femmes dans une vigne, absolument de tête mais s’il ne le gâte pas ni ne le laisse là inachevé cela sera très beau et très étrange » ; le 10 novembre, « Gauguin a terminé sa toile des vendangeuses ». Si Gauguin a bien gardé le souvenir de ces couleurs pourpres et jaunes, ces femmes dont parle Van Gogh sont des Bretonnes bien reconnaissables à leur coiffe ! Van Gogh d’ajouter : " et moi je n'ai pas vu les choses bretonnes ".

VENDANGES A ARLES (MISÈRES HUMAINES), Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), 1888 - Ordrupgaard, Copenhague

VENDANGES A ARLES (MISÈRES HUMAINES)

Paul Gauguin (1848-1903)

1888

Huile sur toile de jute, 73,5 x 92 cm

Ordrupgaard, Copenhague

 

Pour Van Gogh lui-même, le 3 novembre, juste après avoir évoqué les « femmes dans une vigne » de Gauguin : " Je travaille actuellement à une vigne toute pourpre et jaune ". Le 10 novembre, après avoir indiqué que "Gauguin a terminé sa toile des vendangeuses" il indique : « J’ai fini moi aussi une toile d’une vigne toute pourpre et jaune avec des figurines bleues et violettes et un soleil jaune ». Rien de plus, il n’est nullement question ici de vendanges et nous sommes bien loin du luxe de détails donnés pour l’achèvement de sa Vigne verte. Le paysage est envahi par des vendangeurs dont on n’a jamais entendu parler. Toujours dans la même lettre, il ajoute aussitôt après : « Je vais me mettre à travailler souvent de tête, et les toiles de tête sont toujours moins gauches et ont un air plus artistique que les études sur nature, surtout lorsqu'on travaille par un temps de mistral ». Quelques paragraphes plutôt, il disait à son frère qu’il « ne trouve pas désagréable de chercher à travailler d’imagination, puisque cela me permet de ne pas sortir… le froid ne fait pas mon affaire comme tu sais. » Mais c’est surtout  sous l’influence de Gauguin que Van Gogh décide de donner place dans ses œuvres à sa mémoire et à son imaginaire (il le confirme à Théo dans une lettre du 11 (ou 12) novembre : « Gauguin me donne le courage d’imaginer et les choses d’imagination certes prennent un caractère plus mystérieux » ; et à sa sœur Willemien dans une lettre du 12 novembre alors qu’il vient tout juste d’achever sa Vigne rouge : « Il m’encourage beaucoup à travailler souvent en pleine imagination ».

 

Il ne pouvait en être autrement, les vendanges ayant démarré en Provence, cette année-là, vers le 20 septembre. Dans cette vigne, elles y avaient été faites un mois plutôt, telles que décrites par Van Gogh pour sa Vigne verte, et il n'y avait plus personne depuis dans cette vigne. Les deux peintres ont donc travaillé de mémoire et s’ils ont gardé le vif souvenir de couleurs pourpres et jaunes (la teinte rouge et jaune du feuillage est bien typique des couleurs de la vigne après la vendange, fin octobre, en fin de cycle végétatif), ils ont lâché la bride à leur imagination pour le reste. Van Gogh aimait les oppositions de couleur audacieuses. Dans sa lettre du 3 octobre à Théo déjà citée : « Lorsque tout le feuillage des arbres sera jaune, ce sera contre le bleu quelque choses d’épatant – Ziem nous a déjà bien des fois montré ces splendeurs-là ». Le sujet du tableau exprime ici comme une mise en scène qui semblerait recouverte de couleur, celle choisie par Van Gogh étant choisie simplement d’après l’effet qu’elle produit dans le tableau. Avec ce traitement de la couleur, cette splendide composition annonce le fauvisme.

 

Cette œuvre de composition (comme l'oeuvre de Gauguin) nous démontre clairement qu’il serait préférable de dire que les peintres racontent une histoire du vin, la leur, et non pas l’histoire du vin.

 

 

* Van Gogh entretenait des relations épistolaires étroites avec les membres de sa famille, et notamment avec son frère Théo (652 lettres sur un total de plus de 900). Elles sont un témoignage très précis et minutieux des circonstances dans lesquelles il a produit ses œuvres.

 

** Dans une de ses lettres à sa mère, en juillet 1889, Van Gogh lui dit qu’il se souvient « d’une toile qu’il avait envoyée à Théo, avec une vigne toute pourpre et cramoisie, avec du jaune, du vert et du violet comme la vigne vierge en Hollande".

AUTRES ŒUVRES DE VAN GOGH EXPOSÉES

Café de nuit
Intérieur d'un restaurant à Arles
La Vigne verte
Vignes avec vue sur Auvers
Les Buveurs

> Découvrez les oeuvres dans leur entier en cliquant sur les vignettes

LE MODE PLEIN ECRAN EST RECOMMANDÉ

©  2011-2019   Le Musée Virtuel du Vin - The Virtual Wine Museum

​L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.