Wine and the vine in Mosaic and Stained Glass

DIONYSUS, GOD OF WINE, RIDING A CHEETAH
Mosaic floor in the "House of Dionysos" at Pella, Greece. Pebbles, terracotta and lead. 2.70 x 2.65 m. / 1
THE PRESENTATION OF BABY DIONYSUS BY HERMES TO SILENUS
4th century AD., Mosaic panel in reception hall of House of Aion, Archaelogical site of Kato Pafos, Republic of Cyprus / 2
HARVESTING AND TREADING OF GRAPES
Mosaic, 4th century AD., Santa Costanza Church, Roma / 3
MEN CELEBRATING GRAPE HARVEST
562 AD. - Church of Saints Lot and Procopius, Khirbat al-Mukhayya, Monte Nebo, Jordan / 4
THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH
Italian artist, 1215/35 - Saint Mark's Basilica, Venice, Italy / 5
THE PARABLE OF THE VINEYARD (one of a set of 12 scenes from The Life of Christ)
Jan Rombouts, ca. 1525/30 - The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York / 6

DIONYSUS: ATTRIBUTES AND ANIMALS

 

1. The major personal attribute of Dionysus is the thyrsus staff often shown in his hand, at his feet or held by his followers. Branches of pine and ivy are principally used to decorate the thyrsus, as well as their fruits – pine cones and red berries – with which Dionysus is often crowned. Being evergreens, these plants were seen as an exception to the laws of nature because lost their leaves – this apparent ‘immortality’ connected them to Dionysus’ own resurrection miracles. Significantly, the real fruit of the pine tree was hidden away in the cone, and toxic ivy berries were used in beer consumed by the maenads (female followers of Dionysus) to provoke hallucinations. Such images also represent the pomegranate and fig trees and their fruit: the pomegranate was associated with the underworld because it was thought to come from Dionysus’ blood, ripened in winter and was linked to the myth of Persephone; meanwhile, the Mediterranean fig tree was associated with hidden life because the trees grew spontaneously, revealing hidden water sources. As Dionysus gave mankind wine and the vine, vines, grapes and drinking vessels are also often represented; this reveals a certain confusion between Dionysus and his Roman counterpart, Bacchus. Dionysus’ animals are the panther, the goat and the donkey. (Source: Wikipedia)

DIONYSUS: A GOD FROM BIRTH

 

2. It was “from Dionysian imagery that early Christian iconography drew inspiration in order to make the ‘Childhood of Christ’ cycle. Out of all the gods and heroes, it was the birth and childhood of Dionysus that most inspired artists; this phenomenon is particularly evident the Roman period... Hermes, seated with the haloed child on his lap, presents the young Dionysus for veneration by the group in the same way as Mary presents Jesus to the Magi... This is evidence of the ‘backwards influence’ of Christian images on Pagan iconography...

 

While tradition states that Dionysus was only admitted to the ranks of the gods after having performed a number of meritorious tasks, the presence of Theogonia in this image, accompanied by the personifications of ambrosia and nectar, foodstuffs of the gods, clearly shows Dionysus as a god from birth. The holiness of the newborn Dionysus, usually considered a mere mortal, is an echo of the polemic which divided orthodox Christians and disciples of Arius on the ‘consubstantial nature of the Holy Trinity’ – meaning the problem of Christ’s divinity from birth.” (Source: Janine Bally, Mosaïques antiques du Proche-Orient: chronologie, iconographie, interprétation, PU Franche-Comté)

 

Dionysus is the only god to have been born to a mortal: Homer and Hesiod present him as the son of Zeus and Semele, daughter of Cadmos, King of Thebes, and Harmonia. Prodded by a jealous Hera, disguised as her nurse, the pregnant Semele asked to look upon Zeus, the father of her child, in his godly splendour. Having sworn to do this, Zeus arrived with his bolts of lightning, the sight of which killed Semele on the spot. Zeus took the unborn Dionysus from his mother’s womb and sewed him into his thigh. As the term ‘thigh’ in this myth is possibly a euphemism for the genitals, Dionysus might have been directly issued from Zeus’ sperm (or perhaps his urine). To protect him from the vengeance of Hera, Dioysus was entrusted to his aunt Ino (Semele’s sister) and her husband, Athamas. Discovered by Hera, he was then given to the nymphs, led by the satyr Silenus, on Mount Nysa in Thrace – which the Greeks considered Asia. To escape Hera, he was transformed into a kid. After the killing of Pentheus, Hera, notorious for her grudges, decided to punish Ino and Athamas for having cared for Semele’s bastard child. She did this by driving the couple mad (Source: Wikipedia). 

THE ROMANS HARVEST GRAPES FROM HIGH VINES

3. In Book XIV of Naturalis Historia, a volume entirely focused on wine and the vine, Pliny the Elder describes the wine culture of the 1st century AD: “In Campania, the vine is married to the poplar; the vine embraces its spouse, winding itself lovingly around the branches which support its knotted stems, and in this way reaches the top. The vines are so high that the harvest worker insists that the landowner pay for his cremation and burial if he falls in the course of his work. In this way the vine can climb indefinitely: the two plants cannot be separated, but rather torn apart.” Sometimes the villa or domus was encircled by just one vine, issued from a single trunk; Pliny the Elder gives the example of the portico of Livia, in Rome, where the trellises covering the main path grew from a single vine which produced up to twelve amphorae of wine per year. He adds: “Here, we prevent our vines from growing, by pruning them so that the young shoots remain vigorous.” Voluntarily or not, Pliny shows his support for the long-standing legislation of Numa Pompilius, which forbade the making of libations with wine from unpruned vines.

 

He also quotes a scathing remark of Cineas, ambassador of Pyrrhus in the city of Aricia, where the gigantic vines produced a bitter wine. On tasting it, Cineas commented that “the mother of such a liquid indeed deserves a tall gallows”. If, in the twelve volumes of Res Rustica, Columelle touches on all questions relating to viticulture, in Volumes III and IV in particular, his comments on cultivation methods such as arbustive (high-level) vines are relatively complimentary. Betraying a certain disdain for the grands crus of the peninsula, he showcases those of Hispania (Spain), his motherland. It is thanks to Columelle that we know the average yield for a vine in this period: one coleus per jugerum, meaning around 30 hectolitres (3000 litres) per hectare. Such yields are still considered normal for vineyards of quality. (Source: Wikipedia)

THE VINE: A SYMBOL OF PARADISE

4. Born into secrecy in the first centuries after Christ, early Christian art used a range of iconography adopted from Pagan motifs, the symbolism of which was impenetrable to the uninitiated. Such images were kept even after Christianity was declared the national religion. The Paleochristian art form par excellence, mosaics often represent animals and plants whose role is not only decorative, but also symbolic.

An attribute of Dionysus according to the Ancient Greeks, the grape was adopted as the symbol of the blood of Christ for the Eucharist. Jesus’ sacrifice is also represented by the chalice, from which vine foliage is shown growing. The shoots prosper, encircling both people and animals – this symbolising the members of the Christian community, united in their love for Christ.

THE DRUNKENNESS OF NOAH, MANKIND’S FIRST WINEMAKER

5. According to the Bible, Noah had a wife and three sons: Shem, Ham and Japeth. Following God’s orders, he built an ark in order to escape the Flood. As he and his family were the only humans spared, Noah and his wife are traditionally considered the ancestors of humankind. The Book of Genesis says that he lived for 950 years.

 

One day, Noah, who had drunk too much wine, was naked in his tent. Ham saw him naked, but not his brothers, who dressed their father without looking at him. Upon waking, Noah cursed Canaan, Ham’s son, and pronounced him Shem’s servant.

 

Some apocryphal texts explain that the patriarch’s disgrace was due to the intervention of the fallen angel Lucifer. In these accounts, Noah naively accepts the Devil’s help in planting his vines after the Flood. Lucifer begins by burning a sheep, a lion, a monkey and a pig in sacrifice. The vine shoots rot on being sprayed with the ashes. Faced with Noah’s surprise, Lucifer explains: “At the first drink of wine, men become soft and humble as sheep; at the second, they imagine themselves lions and boast ceaselessly; at the third, they imitate monkeys, dancing and saying foolish things; at the fourth, they wallow like pigs in mire and filth.” 

Find out more: Gallery The Drunkenness of Noah  >>

THE PARABLE OF THE WORKERS IN THE VINEYARD

6. Parables are used in the Bible to convey Christ’s teachings on a number of subjects. The stories are taken from everyday life to explain the ‘kingdom of God’: God’s expectations of mankind, what mankind can expect of God, and how to respect God and other people.

 

The expression “the eleventh hour” refers to an ancient method of calculating the time based on the twelve hours following the sunrise. The parable describes a vineyard owner who pays the same wage to all his workers, regardless of the time at which they began their work. He hires vineyard workers at dawn, then three times more over the course of the day, promising a ‘fair wage’ to his labourers. At the ‘eleventh hour’ (5pm), only one hour before the end of the working day. There he hires some more labourers, who have been waiting for work all day, and sends them to join the others. At nightfall, the employer calls together all the workers and pays them all one denier, regardless of the number of hours each man has worked. “The first as the last, the last as the first.”

Find out more: Gallery Parables  >>

STAINED GLASS IN THE MIDDLE AGES: NOTRE DAME OF CHARTRES AND NOTRE-DAME OF PARIS WINDOWS

Roman art’s successor, Gothic art reigned supreme from the second half of the Middle Ages to the Renaissance – a period of around 400 years. The size of the cathedrals allowed for more art to be displayed and artists to express themselves via glasswork: walls became less imposing and windows much more so, allowing for better light. A symbol of transcendence, Medieval windows were both an exultant decorative feature and a barrier separating the cathedral from the outside world.

WHEELWRIGHT AND COOPER (detail of the Noah Window)
The trades, north aisle - 1205/15 - Chartres Cathedral, France
MARCH - VINE PRUNING
Zodiac and Works of the Months, 1217/20 - Chartres Cathedral, France / 4
WINEGROWERS PRUNING THE VINE
Zodiac and Works of the Months, 1217/20 - Chartres Cathedral, France
LEPERS
Story of Saint Lubin, 1205/15 - Chartres Cathedral, France / 10
CARRYING A BARREL
Story of Saint Lubin, 1205/15 - Chartres Cathedral, France
SEPTEMBER - HARVEST AND TREADING
Zodiac and Works of the Months, 1217/20 - Chartres Cathedral, France
TWO WINEGROWERS PRUNING THE VINES
Story of the Virgin, 1217/20 - Chartres Cathedral, France / 8
ARIES ZODIAC SIGN, MAN PRUNING HIS VINE
Rosace ouest - Zodiac, 1220/25 - Notre-Dame de Paris / 11
WINE DRAWING FROM A BARREL
Story of Saint Lubin, 1205/15 - Chartres Cathedral, France
OCTOBER - TOPPING-UP
Zodiac and Works of the Months, 1217/20 - Chartres Cathedral / 6
SAINT-VINAGE
Histoire de Saint Lubin,1205-1215 -  Cathédrale de Chartres / 9
LIBRA ZODIAC SIGN, TREADING OF THE GRAPES
Rosace ouest - Zodiac, 1220/25 - Notre-Dame de Paris / 12

4. Symbolically, the pruning of the vine evokes the pruning of one’s desires: as too much sap produces an undisciplined, invasive and infertile plant, all superfluity must be cut away. 
 
6. After the harvest and the pressing of the grapes, the wine is put in a barrel. At the start of the process, the barrel needs to be topped up regularly in order to keep it full. Here, the vineyard worker fills up the barrel with a smaller keg. 


8. The vineyard workers prune the vine – an activity that traditionally takes place in March. They wear cloaks to protect themselves from the cold, and cut back the vine with a curved pruning knife. Secateurs were only invented at the start of the 19th century.  
 
9 and 10. Ergotism, or St Anthony’s Fire, was – along with plague, leprosy and syphilis – was one of the four great maladies of the Middle Ages. Aside from the thaumaturgic approach (employing the services of a miracle-maker) and surgery (necessary when gangrene didn’t cause the limb to drop off on its own), there were treatments for St Anthony’s Fire: holy wine (a wine brought into contact with saintly relics, possibly imbued with medical substances); a similar “water” (St Anthony’s Water); fomentations (warm compresses, applied locally and externally) and ointments intended to sooth the condition’s painful burning sensations). (Source: Pierre Bachoffner, 1997). The Hôtel-Dieu of Beaune carried the name of St Anthony, patron saint of hospitals thanks to the involvement of the Order of St Anthony in caring for sufferers of the condition. Saint Vinage – wine first sprinkled on the statue of a saint – was among the medicines used. Here we are at the leper hospital of Grand Beaulieu in Chartres. The carers wore red; the patients, white. As a cure, sufferers were made to drink Saint Vinage – wine or water first poured over the case containing the cathedral’s holy relics. A monk in red holds a cup of this drink and a patient in white shows his face, holding up his “martyr’s” hands. At this time, lepers were considered martyrs, suffering as Christ had suffered and curable only by God. They were therefore favoured by Him, having been chosen. If this stained glass features a lot of lepers, it’s because St Leobinus also suffered from leprosy: he was said to have worn a false nose, his own having been lost to the disease. During this period, all skin conditions and even ergotism were considered “leprous”.  
 
11. The Western rose window of Notre-Dame escaped the 2019 blaze. The stained glass panels depict each month’s agricultural work associated with its zodiac sign, Virtues and Vices, the prophets and, in the centre, the Virgin Mary. Traditionally, Aries – the first fire sign – starts off the new annual cycle. Spring has just arrived and a man is pruning the vine.
 
12. The autumn’s activity (Libra) starts with the grape harvest. This would be followed by the treading of the grapes – the start of the vinification process.

STAINED GLASS IN MODERN ERA: REIMS CATHEDRAL AND CHAMPAGNE WINDOW

The modern era, which followed on from the Middle Ages from the beginning of the 16th century, continued to nourish the savoir-faire of master glassworkers.

THE GRAPE OF CANAAN
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims
TREADING
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims
WINEPRESS
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims

In 1954, the ‘Corporation des vins de Champagne’ commissioned the master glassworker Jacques Simon to produce stained glass windows relating to the vineyards of the region, in the tradition of ‘corporation’ stained glass of the Middle Ages. This is an example of the professional patronage which made the region famous. This window illustrates the different stages of wine production (tending the vine, harvest, etc.) in relation to the connected industries of bottle- and cork-makers.

WINE AND THE ARTS

Antique Frescoes
Graphics
Sculpture
and Architecture
Mosaic
and Stained Glass
Tapestry
Objets d'art
Photography
Posters
and Press
Painting

©  2020   Le Musée Virtuel du Vin - The Virtual Wine Museum                            Sitemap   |   Terms and Privacy

  • Twitter | Virtual Wine Museum
  • Wine Drinkers | YouTube | Virtual Wine Museum

Contact us

Wine Museum on Internet

Non-profit and academic information website

Alcohol abuse endangers your health, drink only in moderation.

02.08.2019

Le vin et la vigne dans la mosaïque et les vitraux

DIONYSOS, DIEU DU VIN, ASSIS SUR UNE PANTHERE
Sol en mosaïque de galets
Fin du IVème siècle av. J.-C.
Maison de Dionysos
Musée archéologique de Pella, Grèce / 1
PAVEMENT , RINCEAUX DE VIGNE AVEC SCÈNES DE VENDANGE
562 ap. J.C.
Eglises de Saint Lot et Saint Procopius
Khirbat al-Mukhayya
Mont Nébo, Jordanie / 4
PRÉSENTATION PAR HERMES DE DIONYSOS A SILÈNE
IV° siècle ap. J-C
Maison d'Aion
Paphos, Chypre / 2
SCÈNE DE VENDANGES ET DE FOULAGE DU RAISIN
Mosaïque
IVème siècle ap. J-C
Eglise Santa Costanza, Rome / 3
L'IVRESSE DE NOE
Artiste italien, 1215-1235
Basilique Saint-Marc, Venise / 5
LA PARABOLE DES OUVRIERS DE LA ONZIÈME HEURE (d'un ensemble de douze scènes de la Vie du Christ)
Jan Rombouts
Vitrail
ca. 1525-1530
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

ATTRIBUTS DE DIONYSOS ET ANIMAUX ASSOCIES

 

1/ L'attribut majeur et personnel de Dionysos est le thyrse qu'il tient à la main, qu'on trouve à ses pieds ou dans son cortège. Ses plantes principales : le pin et le lierre, ainsi que leurs fruits, la pomme de pin et les baies de lierres, dont il est souvent couronné. Ces plantes sont une apparente exception dans la nature, car elles sont toujours vertes au cours de l'année, et ne semblent pas perdre leurs feuilles, ce qui renvoie aux résurrections du dieu. On notera aussi que les vrais fruits du pin sont cachés dans la pomme, et que les baies de lierre, toxiques, entraient dans la fabrication d'une bière que consommaient les ménades, et qui contribuait à leur transe. On trouve aussi le grenadier et la grenade, le figuier et les figues (le grenadier est issu du sang du dieu, ses fruits mûrissent en hiver, et Persépone reste liée aux enfers pour en avoir mangé ; le figuier est associé à la vie cachée dans le monde méditerranéen, car il pousse spontanément là où il y a de l'eau souterraine et révèle les sources). Comme il a apporté la vigne et le vin aux hommes, on trouve également la vigne et le raisin, la coupe à boire. Mais il s'agit plutôt d'une contamination avec Bacchus, son équivalent romain. Les animaux associés sont la panthère, le bouc et l'âne (Source: Wikipedia).

DIONYSOS, DIVIN DES SA NAISSANCE

 

2/ C'est "dans l'imagerie dionysiaque notamment qu'avait puisé l'iconographie chrétienne à ses débuts pour constituer un cycle des Enfances du Christ ; car parmi les dieux et héros, Dionysos était l'un de ceux dont la naissance et la prime jeunesse avaient le plus inspiré les artistes ; le phénomène est particulièrement clair à l'époque romaine... Hermès, assis, présente l'enfant nimbé devant lui à la vénération de l'assistance, comme Marie présente Jésus à l'adoration de ces premiers fidèles que furent les Rois-Mages... C'est le témoignage d'une "influence en retour" de l'iconographie chrétienne sur l'iconographie païenne... 

 

Alors que traditionnellement Dionysos n'est admis au rang des dieux qu'après avoir par ses faits mérité cette apothéose, la présence de Theogonia, assistée des personnifications du nectar (Nektar) et de l'ambroisie (Ambrosia), nourritures des dieux, affirma avec ostentation la divinité de Dionysos dès sa naissance, souligne la caractère divin de cet enfant nouveau-né - d'ordinaire considéré comme un simple mortel - une sorte d'écho de la polémique qui divisait à l'époque chrétiens orthodoxes et disciples d'Arius sur la "consubstantialité de la Sainte-Trinité", c'est-à-dire sur le problème de la divinité du Christ à sa naissance." (source : Janine Bally, Mosaïques antiques du Proche-Orient: chronologie, iconographie, interprétation, PU Franche-Comté). 

 

Dionysos est le seul dieu né d'une mère mortelle : dès Homère et Hésiode, il est présenté comme le fils de Zeus et de Sémélé, fille du roi de Thèbes Cadmos et d'Harmonie. Poussée par Héra jalouse, déguisée en sa nourrice, Sémélé demande à contempler Zeus, de qui elle est enceinte, dans toute sa majesté. Zeus ayant promis doit se présenter muni de sa foudre, qui tue sur le champ Sémélé. Zeus tire alors son fils du ventre de sa mère et, s'entaillant la cuisse, y coud l'enfant pour mener sa gestation à terme. La cuisse pouvant être une désignation euphémique pour les organes sexuels (procédé courant, voir par exemple le français « bas-ventre »), Dionysos pourrait être considéré comme issu directement du sperme (ou de l'urine) de Zeus. Pour le soustraire à la vengeance d'Héra, il est confié à sa tante Ino (sœur de Sémélé) et à son époux, Athamas. Mais découvert par Héra, Dionysos est alors remis aux nymphes, sous la direction de Silène, sur le mont Nysa (ou Nyséion), en Thrace, c'est-à-dire, pour les Grecs, en Asie. Pour échapper à Héra, il est transformé en chevreau. Cependant, après l'épisode de Penthée, Héra, réputée pour sa rancune tenace, décide de punir Ino et Athamas pour avoir recueilli le bâtard de Sémélé. Elle rend le couple fou (source : Wikipédia).

VENDANGES ROMAINES SUR DES VIGNES EN HAUTAIN

3/ Pline l'Ancien, dans son Livre XIV, de Naturalis Historia, entièrement consacré à la vigne et au vin, indiquait que de son temps (au I° siècle) : « En Campanie, on marie la vigne au peuplier ; le cep embrasse son époux, serpente amoureusement parmi les rameaux qu'enlacent ses tiges noueuses, et arrive ainsi au sommet. Sa hauteur est telle, que le vendangeur fait marché pour être, en cas de chute, brûlé et enterré aux dépens du propriétaire. Ainsi la vigne s'élèverait indéfiniment : on ne peut les séparer, ou plutôt les arracher l'un à l'autre. » Il arrivait que des villæ et des domus ne fussent entourées que d'un seul cordon de vigne, issu d'un seul pied, et le naturaliste précise qu'à Rome, dans les portiques de Livie, les treilles qui abritaient une promenade n'étaient formées que par un seul cep de vigne qui donnait jusqu'à douze amphores de vin par an. Puis, sans porter de jugement qualitatif, il remarquait : « Ici, nous empêchons nos vignes de grandir, en les taillant afin que leur vigueur se concentre dans les jeunes poussent ». Volontairement ou non, il préconisait ainsi la législation qu'avait fait adopter, en son temps, Numa Pompilius, interdisant de faire des libations avec du vin provenant de vignes non taillées.

 

En contre-point, il cite la remarque acerbe de Cinéas, l'ambassadeur de Pyrrhus dans la cité d'Aricie, où des ceps gigantesques produisaient un vin âpre de goût, proclama que « la mère d'un tel liquide avait bien mérité un gibet si élevé ». Si Columelle, dans ses douze livres de Res Rustica, aborda toutes les questions relatives à la viticulture, dans les tomes III et IV, ses propos furent moins critiques pour les méthodes culturales et notamment pour les vignes arbustives (en hautain). Montrant un certain ostracisme vis-à-vis des grands crus de la péninsule, il mit en exergue ceux de l'Hispania, son pays natal. mais c'est grâce à lui que nous savons quel était le rendement de la vigne à son époque : un culeus par jugerum, soit environ 30 hectolitres par hectare. Le rendement actuel d'un vignoble de qualité. (source : Wikipédia).

LA VIGNE SYMBOLISE LE PARADIS

4/ Né dans la clandestinité aux premiers siècles de notre ère, l'art chrétien a repris à son compte certains motifs païens qui ont servi de base à une iconographie symbolique, destinée à n'être comprise que des seuls initiés. Celle-ci est maintenue même après la proclamation du christianisme comme religion d'Etat. Art paléochrétien par excellence, la mosaïque abonde ainsi en décors animaliers et végétaux dont la fonction n'est pas seulement décorative. Attribut de Dionysos chez les anciens Grecs, le raisin est devenu le symbole du sang du Christ lors de l'Eucharistie. le sacrifice du Christ est aussi rappelé par le calice d'où s'échappent des rinceaux de vigne. Elle prospère en enserrant de petits personnages ou des animaux, symboles des membres de la communauté unis dans leur amour du Christ.

L'IVRESSE DE NOE, PREMIER VIGNERON DE L'HUMANITE SELON LA BIBLE

5/ Selon le récit biblique, Noé a une femme et trois fils : Sem, Cham et Japhet. Sous les ordres de Dieu, il bâtit une arche afin d'échapper au Déluge. Lui et sa famille étant les seuls humains épargnés, Noé et sa femme sont considérés par la tradition comme les ancêtres de toute l'humanité. La Genèse lui attribue une vie de 950 ans.

Un jour, Noé, qui a trop bu de vin de sa vigne, se trouve nu dans sa tente. Cham le voit tout nu, mais, pas ses frères qui le rhabillent en lui tournant le dos. À son réveil, Noé maudit Canaan, le fils de Cham, et le déclare serviteur de Sem. Quelques textes apocryphes expliquent que la chute du patriarche a été due à l'intervention de Lucifer, l'ange déchu. Fort naïvement, Noé aurait accepté l'aide du diable pour planter sa vigne après le Déluge. Celui-ci, selon la tradition, commença par faire un sacrifice en immolant un mouton, un lion, un singe et un cochon. Tout se gâta quand il en aspergea le plantier. Face à la surprise du patriarche, Satan expliqua alors : « Au premier verre de vin, l'homme deviendra doux et humble comme un mouton, au second, il se sentira fort comme un lion et ne cessera de s'en vanter, au troisième il imitera le singe, dansant tout en disant des sottises, au quatrième, il se vautrera tel un cochon dans la fange et les immondices ».

Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "L'Ivresse de Noé" >>

LA PARABOLE DES OUVRIERS DE LA ONZIÈME HEURE

L’enseignement du Christ passe parfois par un certain nombre de « paraboles » qui sont des comparaisons tirées de la vie courante pour expliquer comment fonctionne le « royaume de Dieu », c’est-à-dire tout ce qui concerne la relation à Dieu : ce que Dieu attend de l’homme, ce que l’homme peut attendre de Dieu, et comment vivre bien avec Dieu et autrui.

 

La onzième heure fait référence à une méthode antique de calcul des heures qui débutait avec le lever du soleil et qui divisait la journée en douze parties. La parabole - dite aussi Parabole des ouvriers dans la vigne - fait intervenir un propriétaire terrien qui rémunère également ses différents employés peu importe l'heure où ils ont entamé leur labeur. Elle raconte comment ce maître de maison, dès le matin, embauche des ouvriers pour une journée de travail dans sa vigne. Au cours de la journée, à trois reprises, il offre du travail et un « juste salaire » aux hommes qui attendent. Et, à la onzième heure, l’avant-dernière heure, donc, il sort à nouveau, questionne ceux qui sont là et leur propose d’entrer dans la vigne pour y travailler à leur tour. Au soir, le maître ordonne à son intendant de payer tous les ouvriers, en commençant par les derniers. À chacun est donné, même aux ouvriers de la onzième heure, le salaire d’une journée complète. « Ainsi les derniers seront premiers, et les premiers derniers. ».

Pour en savoir plus : Galerie "Paraboles" >>

LE VITRAIL MÉDIÉVAL DU MOYEN-ÂGE : NOTRE-DAME DE CHARTRES  ET NOTRE-DAME DE PARIS

Succédant à l'art roman, l’art gothique s'étend de la seconde moitié du Moyen-Âge à la Renaissance. soit pendant près de 400 ans. La grandeur des cathédrales permet à l’art de se déployer et aux artistes de s’exprimer à travers les vitraux, alors que les murs s'effacent et que les fenêtres sont de plus en plus hautes et laissent passer une lumière plus vive. Symbole de la transcendance, le vitrail médiéval l'exalte, tout en constituant une clôture avec le monde extérieur.

CHARRON ET TONNELIER
Histoire de Noé, 1205-1215 - Cathédrale de Chartres
MARS - LA TAILLE DE LA VIGNE
Zodiaque et Travaux des mois, 1217-1220 - Cath. de Chartres / 4
LES VIGNERONS ÉMONDENT LA VIGNE
Zodiaque et Travaux des mois, 1217-1220 - Cathédrale de Chartres
TRANSPORT D'UN TONNEAU
Histoire de Saint Lubin, 1205-1215 - Cathédrale de Chartres
SEPTEMBRE - LES VENDANGES ET LE FOULAGE
Zodiaque et Travaux des mois, 1217-1220 - Cathédrale de Chartres
DEUX VIGNERONS TAILLENT LES VIGNES
Histoire de la Vierge, 1217-1220 - Cathédrale de Chartres / 8
TIRAGE DE VIN AU TONNEAU
Histoire de Saint Lubin, 1205-1215 - Cathédrale de Chartres
OCTOBRE - OUILLAGE
Zodiaque et Travaux des mois, 1217-1220 - Cathédrale de Chartres / 6
SAINT-VINAGE
Histoire de Saint Lubin,1205-1215 -  Cathédrale de Chartres / 9
DES LÉPREUX
Histoire de Saint Lubin, 1205-1215 - Cathédrale de Chartres / 10
LE SIGNE DU ZODIAQUE DU BÉLIER, L'HOMME TAILLE SA VIGNE
Rosace ouest - Zodiaque, 1220-1225 - Notre-Dame de Paris / 11
LE SIGNE DE LA BALANCE, FOULAGE DU RAISIN
Rosace ouest - Zodiaque, 1220-1225 - Notre-Dame de Paris / 12

4/ Symboliquement, la taille de la vigne rappelle que de même que les désirs, l'énergie de la sève va produire une plante folle, envahissante et stérile, si elle n'est pas disciplinée par l'ascèse du renoncement à ce qui est superflu.

6/Après les vendanges et le foulage, le vin est mis en tonneau. Au début de son travail, l'ouillage est nécessaire pour maintenir le tonneau plein en permanence. Ici, le vigneron complète le niveau de son tonneau avec un tonnelet. 

 

8/ Les vignerons taillent la vigne, activité du mois de mars. Ils sont protégés du froid par un capuchon, et émondent la vigne au moyen d'une serpette à talon. Le sécateur ne sera inventé qu'au tout début du XIXème siècle.

9 et 10/ L'ergotisme ou Feu de Saint Antoine, avec la peste, la lèpre et la syphilis, est au nombre des quatre grands fléaux qui ont dévasté le Moyen-Age. En dehors de la démarche thaumaturgique (celle qui accomplit un miracle) et de l'acte chirurgical, nécessaire lorsque la gangrène n'éliminait pas spontanément le membre sphacélé (nécrosé), il y eut une thérapeutique médicale du Feu de Saint Antoine : le saint Vinage, un vin mis au contact des reliques d'un saint, peut-être chargé de substances médicamenteuses, une "eau" (L'Eau de Saint Antoine) analogue, des fomentations (applications locales et externes d'une médication chaude, ainsi que des onguents dont l'application devait servir à calmer les douloureuses sensations de brûlure (source : Pierre Bachoffner, 1997). L'Hôtel-Dieu de Beaune a porté dès sa fondation le nom de saint Antoine,  patron des hôpitaux en raison de l'implication de l'Ordre des Antonins dans les soins des malades atteints du "Mal des Ardents". Parmi les médicaments utilisés figurait le saint Vinage, vin dont on aspergeait d'abord la statue du saint. Nous sommes ici à la léproserie du Grand Beaulieu à Chartres. Les clercs soignants étaient vêtus de rouge, les malades en blanc. Pour les guérir, on leur donnait à boire le « saint Vinage », du vin ou de l’eau que l’on avait fait couler sur la châsse contenant les saintes reliques à la cathédrale. Un frère soignant en rouge porte la coupe du saint vinage et un malade en blanc montre son visage et tient la palme du martyre. Les lépreux sont alors considérés comme des martyrs qui souffrent comme le Christ a souffert et que seul Dieu peut guérir. Ils ont donc la faveur de Dieu, ils sont choisis par Dieu. Si ce vitrail laisse une telle place aux lépreux, c’est que saint Lubin souffrait lui-même de la lèpre, on dit que son nez était rongé et qu’il portait un faux nez. A cette époque on considérait comme « lèpre » toute maladie de peau et même le mal des ardents.

11/ Les vitraux de la rosace ouest de Notre-Dame de Paris ont été préservés de l'incendie. Ils représentent les travaux agricoles des mois associés aux signes du zodiac, les Vertus et les Vices, les prophètes et, au centre, la Vierge. Traditionnellement, sous le signe du bélier, premier signe du feu, démarre la nouvelle année, le nouveau cycle solaire. La saison du printemps vient d'arriver, un homme taille sa vigne.

 

12/ L'activité d'automne (signe de la balance) débute avec les vendanges.  S'ensuivra le début de la vinification avec le foulage du raisin aux pieds.

LE VITRAIL DE L'EPOQUE MODERNE : NOTRE-DAME DE REIMS ET LE VITRAIL DE CHAMPAGNE

L'époque moderne, qui succède au Moyen-Âge dès le début du XVIème siècle, perpétue le savoir-faire des maîtres verriers.

LA GRAPPE DE CANAAN
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims
LE FOULAGE
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims
LE PRESSOIR
Vitrail de Champagne (détail), 1954 - Cathédrale de Reims

En 1954, la Corporation des vins de Champagne commande au maître verrier Jacques Simon des verrières se rapportant au travail viticole et vinicole, dans la tradition des verrières de corporation du Moyen Âge. C'est un exemple du mécénat de la profession qui fait la célébrité de la région.  Ce vitrail illustre les différentes phases de l'élaboration du vin : soins de la vigne, vendanges... associée aux industries annexes de verriers et bouchonniers. 

LE VIN DES ARTS

Fresques
antiques
Arts
graphiques
Sculpture
et Architecture
Mosaïque et Vitraux
Tapisserie
Objets d'art
Photographie
Affiches et
Dessins de presse
Peinture